Permaculture garden and restoration project with a joyful family in Dordogne, France

Country

Francia

14 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of 8 (two adults, 1 teenager and 5 chicken) - Claude, Liesbet, Mirte + Tiger, Fox, Ninja, LadyGrey and Marie-Claire. Originally we are from Belgium and Alsace (France), so we speak Dutch and French besides English. We love our rural life in the middle of nature. Liesbet is a passionate cook, Mirte bakes scrumptious cakes and Claude enjoys eating it all :-).
    We live in a charming XVIII century farm house in the south west of France, a half hour distance from Bergerac (with a small airport) and 1,5 hours distance from Bordeaux (with an international train station and airport). The closest village is Eymet, a 15 minutes bike ride, with a cosy central place filled with cafés and restaurants. Eymet has an outdoor swimming pool, several bakeries, a handful of shops and a supermarket.
    The Dordogne is a famous region in France that attracts people from all over the world. It is known for its vineyards, medieval villages and castles, and for hiking and canoeing.
    It is also home to Plum Village, a renowned mindfulness center that has brought a lovely, global, open minded crowd to the area.
    Our guests have their own private room at the back of the house with two single beds and a bathroom (incl. toilet) next to it that is shared with Mirte. You are also welcome to camp in a quiet spot. We have tents and camping equipment available.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Claude loves his French roots and will gladly share about the culture and traditions with anyone who is interested. He is also a former teacher, who can teach you the basics of the language.
    Claude is a self thought permaculture gardener and has been single handedly restoring the three hundred year old buildings on our estate with a lot of love and care. He loves to interact with other people and share and learn from each other.
    Liesbet is (according to the many friends and family members who visit) a quite accomplished cook who turns the produce of the permaculture garden into fermented goodies, jams and preserves. She is happy to share what she has learned so far.
    Mirte is a sociable teenager who likes nothing more than having people around and asking questions about other places and cultures.
    The chicken go about their day and are a wonderful example on how to live in the moment.
    All of us are interested in mindfulness and meditation. Claude is a certified mindfulness coach and yoga teacher.
    People who stay with us can enjoy the calm of their own private room at the back of the house, but are welcome to join us in the living room with woodburner or the spacious kitchen. We are used to having guests and are open to discuss everyones needs and wishes. During the summer we spent most of our days outside in the garden of 2 hectares.
    Everyone who came to help us has left a memento, either by helping rebuild a wall, create a new vegetable bed in the garden or by teaching us about bee keeping and tree pruning. There's so much more to learn for us.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for someone to help in our permaculture garden and on the rest of the estate. Think of pruning trees, weeding, harvesting, mulching, creating new veg beds. We are also restoring buildings to their former glory.
    We are looking for enthusiastic people with a motivated attitude. A normal physical strength is enough. Professional experience isn't a requirement, but if you have some we would love to learn from you. We don't have a fixed schedule and usually adapt to the temperatures. We don't smoke, but it's okay for you to smoke outside.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Swedish: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Claude is a former French teacher. He is happy to teach you the basics.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You can use our guest room or a tent in the garden (your own or ours). The bathroom + toilet is shared with Mirte, our teenage daughter.
    We cook varied meals and are happy to adapt to gluten-free, vegetarian or other needs.
    We live in the countryside. It's very quiet, with only a handful of neighbours. Birdsong is the noisiest thing you'll hear.
    You can use our bike to get to Eymet which connects you to the public transport. We are also happy to drop you off at the train station when we go into town for shopping.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a bike available that you can borrow. From the closest village Eymet you can catch a bus to Bergerac which train station connects you to the larger region. There is lots to see and do f.ex. horse riding, wine tasting, visiting medieval castles and villages, Lascaux caves, canoeing, ..
    There is a lake at walking distance and a lot of hiking paths around our house.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Our internet is stable, but not super fast. Liesbet works from home and does Zoom meetings without problems.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a lovely, shaded spot close to our big barn from which we can connect your (camper)van to the electricity network.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 563149576994