Help an Eco-Conscious Off-The-Beaten Path Mountain and Beachfront retreat with website development in the Philippines



102 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Descripción


    This place was crowdfunded in 2017 and launched last year. We are an eco-conscious, permaculture-inspired yoga and nature retreat. We currently offer camping accommodations with kitchen and bathroom facilities. We are beachfront, built with bamboo, solar-powered and a short boat ride from a quiet mountain and coastal town. We are off-the-beaten path in the tourism sector, but there is lots to do including hikes, waterfall treks, snorkeling and swimming. On weekends, our nearby hiking trails and beach see about 200 local tourists, most of whom are just here for the day. We are looking to help grow a slow, environmentally sustainable tourism sector in our town in hopes of better community-based coastal and forest management. Founded by 5 partners, both Filipino and international, we are passionate about development work, art and climate change adaptation advocacy. We are community-oriented and we try to work with local folks and support local arts and sustainability initiatives around our town.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is the real Philippines and you could definitely learn Filipino language, food and cultural customs here. We can also teach you what we know about permaculture, gardening in the tropics, and bamboo building when we are onsite. Melissa hosts a weekend yoga retreat once a month and you are welcome to join on a per-class basis here as well.

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for someone to stay in Dingalan at our place, understand what we offer, and help us primarily with marketing including website development and/or maintenance, SEO optimization, getting our listing on other booking channels, tripadvisor etc, social media presence and liaison with likeminded tourism partners. Our site only has 3G and a solar inverter for power so this slows down the work a bit (!) but we would ask that you bring your own device and commit to doing at least a few hours of help everyday. We do receive on occasion (mostly local) guests and we have staff who come in and generally handle this on their own but we could use some help here too in terms of refining guest experience. There’s always lots to do and if you have building, fix-it, rock-carrying, or trail-making experience and capacity that would be helpful too. You will be on your own, with our caretaker’s family, who are Filipino and speak only a little English. Me (a Filipino-Canadian yoga teacher and development worker) and my husband (a Filipino artist and green architect) will be onsite for 1-2 weeks every month but we are always reachable by phone if you need cultural advice or translation help. You will be given a weekly food budget and we will make sure you have a ride and helper to buy food in the market in town every 2-3 days. For workawayers that prefer to do minimal task- less than 15hrs a week- we would still invite you to stay in which case we would still provide the ride and helper to buy food, but the purchases would be on you. Things are very affordable here. There’s plenty of vegetables, fruits, tofu, fresh fish and meat to buy and we do stock some beans if that’s your food preference. Please communicate your food needs in advance so we can advise you whether options are available locally. We can help teach you some local dishes but most of the cooking will be done by you in our outdoor kitchen. Our property is on the beach, and at the foot of a mountain with lots of coconut trees. The mountainside is pretty dense and steep but there are nearby trailheads 10min away and we are interested in developing hiking options on our property as well. The beachfront is rocky and pebbly with coral reef good for snorkeling about 60m from the shore. The cabin for you is also used by guests and has a double bed, mosquito net and a light at night. We don’t have a lot of guests currently, only 2-3 a month but we would ask that you would transfer for a night or 2 to a tent with mattress if someone does book the cabin. The cabin also has a balcony with a swinging chair. All our bathroom facilities are outside in a different small facility. We have free flowing water from the stream and one flush toilet. The other 2 flush by pouring water into the bowl. We only have cold water here and our current system is local style using a dipper and bucket to wash although we are hoping to install showerheads soon.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Tagalog: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    Wood cabin with double bed and shared outside bathroom (Unless we have guests that book, in which case we would ask you to transfer to a tent with mattress and bedding that we can provide temporarily). You would need to buy food and ice in town every few days as we do not have a refrigerator. We have a kitchen with all utensils and a gas (LPG) stove you may use to cook meals. You can have as much coconut as your heart desires!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a small boat that our caretaker/boatman drives. Using the boat, it only takes 10-min to get to town to buy groceries, go sightseeing etc. Without the boat it would be a 40-min scenic walk along the rocky coast.
    Dingalan really is a quiet town with few international tourists/residents so it is best if you are the type of person who is ok to be on your own, self-starter and motivated to help us grow our vision of eco-conscious tourism. We would also accept a couple or 2 friends.
    There’s plenty of dayhikes, multi-day waterfalls in the area, snorkeling right out front and other places to swim and snorkel a boat ride away. If you do go out sightseeing you may need to find a place to stay as the boats stop running at 6pm or so with dusk. We can help advise you of reasonably priced places where you can stay near to hikes and other attractions and help set you up with tour guides etc, as we are keen to help support the local eco-guiding economy.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 548231628462