Help gardening and other chores at arts & crafts workshops in rural North Okayama, Japan



2095 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

  • Descripción


    Our business is cabinet making and weaving in the rural mountains of Western Japan.
    We renovated an old primary school into workshops and residential space.
    During April - November we often run one day crafts workshops and offer residential courses too.
    From Dec to early March we close for the visitor.

    We have a small natural farm which we use permaculture and natural farming methods for.

    The village we live in is in a very rural quiet area with lots of beautiful surrounding nature.
    We are about 3 hours from Osaka and 1.5 hours from Okayama or Kurashiki city.

    We like to accept volunteers from a minimum of one month stay and prefer those who have a keen interest in Japanese culture, working outside and have creative interests.

    We have also have cats and chickens.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Please read the feed back what the previous volunteers say.

    We like to accept volunteers from a minimum of one month stay and prefer those who have a keen interest in Japanese culture, working outside and have creative interests.

  • Ayuda


    Volunteer help includes gardening, farming, maintenance, animal care and cleaning.
    If you enjoy cooking you can also help with meals.

    If you have a special skill as graphic design or carpenter, or Yoga teacher extra,,,
    please let us know.

    We have a large garden and plot of farm land which needs much attention.

    We therefore want people who enjoy doing this type of outdoor work and have an appreciation for nature.
    If you have good experience with gardening we'd love to ask you to stay!

    There is no Workaway work required for woodwork or weaving but you may be asked to do some small jobs to help with preparation.

    You can participate if we have workshops running whilst you are here for a small cost.

    We have Yoga space.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Japonés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    If you have any interest to learn Japanese, I can teach.

  • Alojamiento


    Private or shared room at an renovated nursery building next to the main building.
    Washing and kitchen facilities available.

    There is free wifi in both buildings.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are very rural, isolated with no public transport or shops around here.

    Please read carefully about the information about the access below ! Please don't ask these question by mail!

    The nearest JR station( Mimasaka-Oiwake) is 10 minutes by car, where we can pick you up and drop you off.

    Kamenoko station is 30 min by car.
    Mimasaka-Oiwake rail station is 10 min by car.

    +Access to us
    Our closest highway bus terminal is Tsuyama , not Okayama. if you are coming from Kyoto or Osaka (~3 hour trip, ¥3,090- ¥2,750) * JR bus or Shinki Bus
    If you will come from Tokyo, there is a night bus to Tsuyama.

    If coming by highway bus you can catch a connecting train from Tsuyama to Mimasaka-Oiwake where we can pick you up.

    There is another highway bus from Osaka ( Umeda) to Chugoku- Oiwake station which is the nearest bus stop to us.( 10 min by car)

    If you come by JR Shinkansen to Okayama station. You can take tsuyama line to Kamenoko station where we can pick you up. It takes 30 min by car.

    Okayama airport is 50 min by car.

    + Days Off
    On volunteers' days off they like to visit Okayama City, Kurashiki , Katsusyama or Tsuyama city. There are also lots of beautiful places to walk and see around here.
    We can drop you to nearest JR station.

    * Weather
    It is very cold here during the autumn and winter up to March.

    * Wear and Boots
    We can provide you with boots and gloves for outside work.
    There is a free box for the working wears for you to borrow.
    There is a big second hand cloth shop near here where you can get very cheap and nice clothes.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have free wifi to offer you to work.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 857594542578