Help with upkeep around our home and farm property in Port Angeles, Washington, USA



 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos



  • Descripción


    Hi there - We are a couple in our late 30s/early 40s (no kids) living in Port Angeles about 2 miles from downtown. We're in to a variety of activities; fishing and mountain biking being our favorites, and we also really enjoy working, so we work a lot. :)
    We love living in PA with its proximity and access to the outdoors, and we have more space than we need for just the two of us so we enjoy sharing that and having people with different backgrounds come through the house; the more the merrier.

    Here's a little about us:
    Marianne grew up in Norway, but moved to the US in 2007. She works in sustainable business and finance when she's not building and managing our own business locally here in PA. Sam is local to the Olympic Peninsula and after almost 20 years away from the region was drawn back to its endless adventuring opportunities. After a career in market research, he now juggles a variety of construction projects on our farm across town.

    A typical day in our household will start with a couple hours of office/computer work before we head over to our farm for the day. We are in the process of building up a farm and small business community over there, which currently means a lot of construction projects. If you have experience in building, and want to help out there, that's absolutely an option. Otherwise, typical tasks at our place include cleaning, yardwork, some painting, and various household maintenance tasks.

    We both enjoy flexible schedules, but are generally occupied by a variety of projects. Our place is a good spot for someone who's self-sufficient and comfortable making themselves at home in someone else's house.

    While we don't have kids or pets of our own, there are a few neighborhood kids and dogs that roll through our house now and then.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our household often feels like a community meeting place; we have both locals and out-of-town visitors on a regular basis. We like to include visitors in recreational activities which often include bike rides, camping, fishing, foraging, etc.

    Group meals are a part of daily life here and we love to take local products are turn them into delicious meals. We have a solar dehydrator that is great for drying apples, mushrooms etc, so there's an opportunity to take part in some of that work in the right season.

    Olympic National Park is basically in our backyard and there are plenty of opportunities for backcountry exploring, beach camping, fishing, etc. We have plenty of experience in these areas and would be happy to share knowledge and facilitate people getting off the beaten track.

  • Ayuda


    We have a variety of tasks available and like to match people up with work they enjoy doing. We generally expect about 4 hours of work per day in exchange for 'room and board', but do not keep a rigid schedule and are very flexible on how it all comes together. If you prefer powering through an 8-hour day and have the next day off to adventure, that works for us.

    We have an ongoing need for help with housecleaning, and general yard maintenance around the house.
    We're also establishing a new farm space a couple miles away from our home, and we always have construction and landscaping projects there, so if you are a skilled builder or have experience in construction there's certainly work for you.

    For anyone willing to put some manual labor in, we have a variety of tasks generally available including:
    - Weed pulling and invasive plant management
    - Lawnmowing
    - Pruning, watering and other orchard maintenance
    - General yardwork
    - Prep for painting projects
    - Prep for construction projects including digging, trenching, raking etc.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You will have one of two upstairs bedrooms, both of whom have comfortable queen sized beds and one of which is equipped with a desk and monitor for remote work. There are two shared bathrooms in the house, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable livingroom with tv and fireplace. Your R&R needs are covered by a big, sunny backyard and a ping-pong table in the basement. We also have loaner-bikes you're free to use.

    Meal planning/cooking is a mix of shared group meals and on-your-own, depending on our schedules. We provide a fully stocked fridge and you're welcome to help yourself and use the kitchen to cook any time. A typical day in our house starts with coffee and work-time on the computer for those of us who have to and we all take care of our own breakfast needs at our own pace. We typically have granola, eggs, toast and the likes available, and Sam sometimes makes delicious breakfast burritos for us all.

    Dinner is more likely to be group meals and we like to cook and share meals at the end of a good workday. We have no dietary restrictions in our house and pretty much eat everything.

    With the bounty that the Olympic Peninsula offers, our freezers are stocked with local fish, berries, meat, mushrooms, etc. Baking bread, making yoghurt, preserving meat and vegetables are regular tasks in our household and we're lucky that it's so easy to eat delicious and local up here.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Local activities include trips to the National Park, hot springs, fishing, biking, beach time. The Olympic Peninsula is such a gem of a place, and if you're into the outdoors, there's something for everyone here. Having your own car is pretty key to access most places.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Yes, there is desk space for remote work, and we have both worked remote ourselves and understand what that entails.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    You likely want to stay in our house if you're at our house, but there's safe street parking outside and we're on a relatively quiet neighborhood street. There's also the option to camp on the farm property across town if you prefer, where you'll have gorgeous views of the Olympic Mountains, and access to a flushing toilet and wifi.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Dogs are fun, feel free to bring your well-trained pups. We love dogs and they are welcome both inside the house and in our fenced backyard, but we'll admit our love for them fades quickly if they aren't well behaved. ;) No cats please, due to allergies.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    About 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 538313768298

Comentarios (3)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help with DIY, eco-landscaping and daily life in Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Making an interesting space have purpose and beauty in Las Vegas, USA