Come and enjoy our big garden and field on a hill, with a great view of Krakow and help us with Germany language in Wieliczka, Poland

Country

Polonia

7 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    437

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are an English-Polish family of 5 living in beautiful surroundings just south of the historic city of Krakow, Poland, and just a mile or so from the famous Salt Mines of Wieliczka. Over the next 6 months (from July 2018) my three wonderful daughters (14, 12 and 6) and I need help from a native German speaker to get our German up to scratch before we move to Germany to be with my husband, who has a job there. My husband will probably come home from time to time, but essentially it would just be us women and our very friendly Daisy Dog.
    We live in a house with a big garden and field on a hill, with a great view of Krakow. It's very rural, but only 10km from the city, and there are trains and buses just 20mins stroll away.
    My girls are all busy with sports (climbing and horse-riding) and hobbies but when we have time together we love to play board games. We also love to read, and I also like jigsaw puzzles. We also love to have bonfires in the garden and look at the stars together and sing songs. If we go away for a weekend it's usually to a rural area, as we all love being in the countryside.
    Kraków is pretty and has a lively and varied cultural and nightlife, and with 5 universities there are lots of students from all over the world. Our area is hilly, and just 2 hrs away by car there are the Tatra mountains, and lots of other natural attractions (caves and rocks for climbing and potholing, riding stables, swimming pools), ... You can bring your bike if you like, or borrow one of ours (though you need to be fit to cycle up our hills!).

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are all bilingual, so in return for your German we can offer English and Polish :D
    I know quite a lot about local history and especially Jewish history, so if you're interested in that I have lots of literature and can show you all the best places to go. There's a small but very lively Jewish community in Kraków who are always looking for volunteers (you don't have to be Jewish), so that could occupy some more of your time if that's your thing. There are also several community choirs, etc., and all the other usual community action groups in Kraków.
    We also take in other volunteers regularly so that would be an extra opportunity to meet even more people :)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    So the 'work' - if you can call it work - is above all talking to us! My 6-year-old, Roo, can't speak any German yet, except 'Ich moechte Eis', which of course is the most important thing to be able to say when you're 6!, so she needs a friend to play with to learn German through play. She doesn't read or write in either Polish or English yet, so your most important qualifications here will be jumping, giggling, drawing, pulling funny faces, running, climbing, and all the other important things that 6-year-olds do. I'm not asking for childcare, though, I won't require you to feed her, take her anywhere, or do any of my 'mum' jobs, and I suspect that 30 mins a day will be all the one-on-one time with her.
    My two teens (Pol, 12, and Mi, 14) need a little more directed conversation and vocabulary help. They can understand quite a lot of German, as they take an intensive course at school, but they are shy and need help with confidence in speaking. They will also appreciate some school-subject specific vocabulary to help them manage at school once we're in Germany (things like maths words in German, chemistry, physics, etc), and also stuff like talking about hobbies, learning German slang, anything that will help them fit in. They are very busy girls, so again, this wouldn't be very time-consuming. Maybe around 45-60 mins 2-4 times a week.
    I am in fact a German graduate but that was light years ago, so I would just like to chat and maybe talk about current affairs, literature, films, whatever...

    I would also love some basic help in the garden as I rarely get the time to do that, and now my husband is away it shows! But as you can see, I don't need too much of your time, and there is lots to see and do around here.

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Polish: Fluido
    French: Principiante
    Russian: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We can offer you a bedroom of your own. Admittedly it used to be Roo's bedroom, so there is a small element of pink and puppies, but we are sure that won't bother you :) We will try to make sure there are no ninja Lego pieces hiding there ;) We have two bathrooms and a separate toilet so that helps to ease the morning rush (though you could actually just sleep through it ;)
    Of course you would be welcomed into our family, eat with us (we are vegetarian and I cook only vegetarian food, though if you're a desperate meat-eater I don't mind too much if you cook a bit of meat now and again), and live as one of us, which would mean taking an equal share of the housework.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The only thing I have to be relatively strict about is no smoking in the house or around the children. But again, I don't mind if you have the odd ciggie in the garden.
    I like a glass of wine in the evening, which you're welcome to share.
    As a rule if you're in a rush I will be able to drop you to the train or bus to go into town, though I can't offer a 24-hr taxi service for night owls. There are night buses all through the night, though, if you like partying and clubbing. The 20-min walk back up the hill is a great help in metabolising alcohol ;)
    ALthough I'm new to Workaway, we have had AIESEC students (from Iran, Indonesia, Congo and Yemen), and we are active Couchsurfers. We aren't religious, but we are open to people who are, as long as they are open to us.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 4-5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 531832784525