Enjoy the magical landscape and picturesque lake whilst helping our family and homestead in rural Sussex, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

717 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    22  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    88.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My partner Alex and I and our two children - Cordelia (11) and Sherlock (6) live on the most idyllic land (8 acres) in West Sussex close to the bustling city of Brighton.

    We're looking ideally for couples (singles considered) to come and share our space, for ideally 2 months at a time, but unfortunately can't accommodate dogs due to all the bird life around us.

    Currently we are looking for in a workaway couple is housekeeping, carpentry and building skills to help with the conversion of a boat and to create a bird hide to watch the birdlife as well as housekeeping experience as we do a lot of entertaining and have friends over most weekends.

    And also any sculpture or artists out there - we are interested in creating some large sculptures for our garden.

    We are surrounded by rolling fields and a picturesque lake which is a home to lots of birds and wildlife and as you drive down the track leading to our house you feel as though you're entering deepest countryside, yet in 10 minutes walk you are at a thriving village called Henfield with shops, cafes and pubs.
    20 minutes drive from us is the student-city of Brighton which has an independent culture and lots of going out and shopping options - should you desire them!

    Housekeeping is the majority of what we need assistance with as is carpentry experience and knowledge of electrics too and general building as there are always things to be mended and re-purposed.

    We both have busy lives and there are always people coming and going, and we're very flexible to the assistance we receive, and can usually find a use for anyone!

    Our set-up would suit a couple due to the split of tasks we have to do - some physical and some child-based/ housekeeping, and there is always help needed around the garden and house...these tasks include painting, cleaning and looking after the animals.
    There is also some assistance with our 2 children - babysitting and school-runs, and we have daily housekeeping - washing clothes, cleaning kitchen, hoovering, dusting etc.

    We are only looking for couples (sorry but single people don't work so well as the living is quite independent, and we find that it works beautifully with couples) who ideally stay for 1 - 2 months, and are helpful, proactive and practical and who are looking to get stuck into our projects whilst they're with us.
    You will be accommodated in our guesthouse which has full facilities (kitchen, dishwasher, bath etc).
    Unfortunately we can't accommodate dogs due to the amount of bird life we live with.

    Driving is a necessity because the school is quite far away. We provide you with a car when needed. And you're welcome to borrow bicycles and even boat(!) to explore the locality as there are lots of picturesque bridal-paths and the River Ardur just along one of those in the locality to be able to explore.

    We require 5 hours per day, 5 days per week of assistance. Extra hours where needed are paid at £10 per hour.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Aside from English language and culture the interesting bird-life in the surrounding areas (including our own chickens, ducks, peacocks and moorhens) could be studied.
    Nearby Knepp Castle is a nature reserve renound for it's 're-wilding' which is often extremely interesting for visitors to visit.
    There are walks around the countryside all around us, and for the adventurous, you can take our canoe and paddle down to Brighton!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Mainly we require assistance involving housekeeping, carpentry, electrics, gardening, general maintenance, helping with the kids (school-run and babysitting) animal husbandry (helping with the chickens, peacocks and gineau fowl).

    When you contact me please let me know your skills and what you enjoy doing, so I can see if there is a way of accommodating you.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation would be in your own room in the guest Annexe which has a kitchen and bathroom. We provide an allowence for food and basics such as washing products so you can be independent, and have 'family' meals where we take it in turns to cook for each other, bi-weekly.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The surrounding areas are stunning - with vineyards, cycle tracks, walks, historical sights, not to mention market-towns and Brighton which is an alternative music and arts focused city is just 25 minutes away by car.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a yard where caravans can be parked if needed.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (4.6)


















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 529211115644