actualizado  

Help us with our tiny syntropic forest in Sesimbra, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • 76 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 09/02/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi we are a dutch couple living in Portugal, close to Sesimbra and the sea. It’s a small quinta where we live since April 2022. In the surrounding land we are creating a tiny syntropic forest with many oaks and other edible trees, bushes and plants. We use seeds, cuttings and sometimes little trees. Many of them we collect and cut ourselves and by doing so, we learn more and more about our surroundings and its flora.
    We aim to plant resilient species with potential for future food production and at the same time enforce our ‘wild’ edges, create some ponds and facilitate insects and fauna in general.

    We are on a continuous learning curve, are you ready to join in ?

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    First and most of all, we will share our (still short) experience and knowledge of our regenerative practice and we hope you will too.

    Staying with us allows you to discover the area of Cabo Espichel, unique for its geographical location and nature. You can take beautiful walks (also organised, in groups) in the area and visit many spectacular beaches, try speology, paragliding, climbing and sea kayaking, among others. You will see flocks of sheep and enjoy the result of their wandering: Azoia cheeses. Sesimbra town has a lovely city beach and is also one of the best places to enjoy seafood. In the Sesimbra port you will find two local scuba schools and a kayak club.

    A little further on, you will find Lagoa de Albufeira where you can kite-, wind- and wingsurf. Fonte de Telha and Costa da Caparica, both more proper for beginner or intermediate (wave) surfing are at 45 minutes distances.

    The town of Sesimbra is close by as are many small villages such as Azoia, Meco and Alfarim.
    The tiny guesthouse comes with a comfortable bike to visit the villages or to cycle to the bus stop in Cotovia. It takes 45 minutes to get to Lisbon from there. There is a bus stop at the main road, 3 minutes walking from our place. The bus service can be looked up on the site of carrismetropolitana.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are learning as we go and invite you to learn with us, helping with the fine-tuning of the irrigation, installing a fence, the maintenance and mulching of the tree-lines, pruning of the fruit trees, creating compost, looking after the worms, mowing in between the lines, take care of the plants in our modest nursery, operating the chipper creating woodchips, collecting and preparing seeds and - in autumn - add more variety to the system by seeding and planting!

    You definitely need to like physical tasks and not have problems with carrying buckets around, bending or riding around with wheelbarrows filled with manure. Make sure you enjoy being outside and have a genuine interest in nature: a WorkAway stay at our place will be mutually satisfying if the knowledge shared meets fertile human soil :)

    When the weather keeps us inside, we will focus on some 'pending' little jobs like hanging shelves and lamps and refurbishing furniture. Carpentry skills are warmly welcomed and we hope to learn from you !

    We are not 'a project' and also not 'a community', just a couple that want to share their new place and beautiful surroundings with other curious, reflective and independent people.

    At the quinta we eat vegetarian plus an occasional fish.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Portugués: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The ‘grandmother’s little white house’ serves as our guesthouse. It is cute and basic, with a nice little kitchen (stove, fridge), bathroom and dining room and outside dining area, one of the two (double) bedrooms is yours, the other for occasional visits of friends and family. We expect from our guests that they keep the little house, the bathroom and the surroundings in a pleasant and clean state so an extra guest can always be welcomed.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We imagine you working 4-5 hours, 5 days per week, the timing depending on the temperature and weather. All in good consultation. Sometimes we work together but other times you are assumed to take on tasks indepently.

    On these workdays we imagine having the main, midday meal together. Breakfast, evening and weekend meals you prepare (for) yourself.

    You keep ‘your’ house, bathroom and surroundings clean, we provide of course bed linen, towels etc. Our washing machine is available for your laundry :)

    We are not a ‘project’ nor a community. We aim for people that are independent, reflective and enjoy nature. The village of Azoia is at 5 min cycling or 15 min walking distance and offers a bakery, a little supermarket and 3 café / restaurants.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    The guesthouse has it’s own wifi and has a diningroom with a big table you can work at. Gijs is a software developer himself so people with a (digital) project on the side are more than welcome.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We do accept workawayers with a dog or a cat but please note that the pets are definitely not allowed inside the guesthouse and will have to sleep in the outside kitchen or seed shed.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 521923626628

Comentarios (3)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.3)





Amazing people needed to help us with alternative community schooling project in waterfall paradise in Espinhal, Portugal
Help us to create a place of abundance, a healthy ecosystem in Sandomil, Portugal