Help with music, gardening, wildcrafting and small building projects on a scenic rural property outside Ashland Oregon, USA


Estados Unidos

202 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Hi travellers! Slow down and make some music while you stay-

    This is the place to visit if you wish to learn and explore both outwardly and inwardly- in both adventure and exposure and in explorations and study of music, history and literature. This is like a cultural retreat center at the middle-point between meditation and mental discipline, home-craft, ritual and performance and adventure. The house is luxurious and simple, with space for alone time and a well-furnished guest bedroom for you!

    The property is at the overlapping edges of foothill oak-savannah and high-mountain fir forest, and is rich in wildlife and especially birds of all kinds. It's at 4500ft and at the intersection of coastal mountains, the volcanic Cascade mountain chain, and the Desert Basin-and-Range sagebrush and juniper culture spilling over from Nevada and Eastern Oregon. From this perch on the hill, the fancy and trendy town of Ashland is close-by and offers a lot to see and do. Even better is the access to natural areas, high mountains, pure lakes, deep woods and incredible natural beauty.

    I am 41, father of a two year old son, musician, storyteller, lifelong bad student, scholar, failure, snob, nerd and hero. Also a Californian, gardener, teacher, handyman, hiker, dreamer, counter-puncher, mushroom hunter.

    I'd love some help gardening, building and maintaining the property and in making music, both improvising and performing!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experience the area from the perspective of a historian, story-teller, naturalist and performer, and share in the development of a home and cultural center by sharing your perspective on ideas that work. My view on the interaction between the cultural world and the natural world needs YOUR view to grow. I am bridging the gap between city and rural life, between nature and culture, of high-art and traditional home-craft, and need your enthusiasm and recipes- for everything from performance practice and song-interpretation to home-fermenting or handicraft skills! You could learn gardening and land-care skills, musical skills, languages and education skills, and meet some great people. Maybe the most important thing you could learn is discovering the gifts that YOU have to offer. Please be welcome!

  • Ayuda


    I am looking for help with gardening, wildcrafting herbs and mushrooms and small building projects at a rural property outside Ashland Oregon, and am looking for help from people with training and experience in music, classical performance especially. Maybe you don't do music but would like to? Contact me! Your instrument, level of training or expertise is not important- what's important is willingness to learn and share. Experience with classical accompaniment and piano performance skill are preferred, but any kind of musical collaboration is sought. I am a singer, but play and have other instruments here at home.

    Any tool using or craft-skills you have will be helpful and useful to many projects on the house, gardens and larger property. This is a chance for some real cultural exchange and collaboration, and the property and facilities are comfortable, even luxurious and well-set up for your visit! Families with small children are encouraged to come and share some child-raising skills and good recipes! Thanks-

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    Stay in a furnished guest bedroom in a large house, sharing the house with me and my two year old son. Laundry, internet and cell-phone reception available. The property is large (10+acres) and quiet, with plenty of space for outdoor sleeping/camping if you prefer that option. The stars are very bright and clear here, and the weather is rain-free from june to october, and quite pleasant. In warm weather, outdoor accommodation in a large tepee may be available.

    Food preparation is possible in a large and well-appointed kitchen or in an outdoor kitchen set-up. Share in food preparation duties, cleanup or share the cost of food, all options open. The property is 11 miles from town, shopping and lots of music, theater and art.

    Meals can be prepared by the guest or shared with family by paying the cost of guest meal portions during the stay. Expected workload is 15 hrs per week, from aprox. 8 am to 11am weekdays.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I need help on weekday mornings, with afternoons and weekends off work. Work from 8-11 each day or work longer and have more days off- we can work it out based on an expected 15hrs per week. Many house and farm care projects, painting and decoration, gardening, craft projects. If we are collaborating on music, times may be different, like practice time in evenings. I work weekends in town as a Classical DJ at the local public radio station and can offer rides to and from town on weekends.

    Ashland is near multiple National Parks and incredible natural areas for hiking, viewing wildlife and exploring, and I am often out on some kind of adventure with my little son or with friends. Experience the culture of homeschooling or "unschooling" a child in the first years, its wonderful! My property and life are a space for play, study, celebration, workout and physical practice, music-making, practical work, and the connections between all those. Are you into land-stewardship, land-art, nature observation, drawing or painting, poetry, storytelling, local history, classical and midaeval studies, classical music, composition, jamming, improvisation, dance, yoga, gardening, food-growing, wildcrafting and harvesting natural foods? Me, too. Let's share some ancient and new ways to be human!

    Its about 12 miles to town center from my property, and on one road, making hitchhiking easy, too. Portland is 6 hours north, San Fransisco 6 hours south, making it a good place to launch explorations to west-coast city destinations. Come and pursue your dreams and wanderings at a slow pace from a perch on the mountain, above the world and its dust and noise.

    I have spent my life working as an apprentice, living in community and shared space, teaching and learning in and outside academia, and collaborating on art and performance. I am interested in person-to-person sharing and learning, and I trust in the goodwill of fellow students and travelers. Share in the shelter and the culture that are gathered here, and help that shelter and culture to grow and thrive with your gifts and talents. Not only are you welcome, you are essential-
    I can't do this work without you!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Fairly unlimited space separate from house and private, but no hookups for campervans/motorhomes/busses.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week or arrangements of 15 hrs total

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 498512377837