Help our farm become self-sustainable with permaculture methods in rural Mempawah, West Kalimantan, Indonesia




418 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 8 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    First of all a big thank you to everyone who has made the success of Workaway possible, My Name is Umar, I`m 54 yo and I work at Government Palm Oil Plantations Company, We live in the capital city (Pontianak) of West Kalimantan. We are a family of 5: Uwie/my wife (running a shop), and 3 kids (Abil-27yo has already graduated University n working as an employee now, Abdun-24yo last Semester, Alma-18yo third grade at High School). This means everybody busy…so they only occasionally visit the farm field.

    We have 3 lands of coconut plantations at a small village (desa sungai nipah & desa peniti), one with coffee shop and near a big main road (while u're sleeping the bed might shake :)) we call it the base camp and Camp 2 is peat soil 4ha, about 3 km away we planting coconut trees+, Camp 3 is clay soil 1,5ha, just in between the two lands at the seashore side that mostly for planting rice and other vegetables & fruits also surely coconut trees and now we plant more bananas. It's a very quiet place, surrounded by nature and some other farmhouses. But it’s not far from the capital city (Pontianak) and only 45 km away from Supadio International Airport or 18km from the equator monument, which is reachable with public transport. As I realized I really prefer practical work as a landscape gardener and during the last few years I intend to learn by doing to grow organic food and running the coffee shop organically.

    The idea is that people come here to contact the great nature around them and take time for themselves. While I am away from the farm, at least please keep planting seeds from the kitchen and keep watering our mini kitchen garden, new ideas for our project are always welcome, being creative, and enjoy your stay!

    In 2022 we are doing some bigger CHANGES in our farm,
    1. Planting 200 Banana trees at camp 3 (already planted 20 trees) also using the forest-permaculture method
    2. Planting 200 more coconut trees at camp 2 (already planted 9trees, target in 2024 would be 600 coconuts trees) using the forest-permaculture method
    3. Planting some more vegetables n fruits at any place we can do also taking care of all of the plantations
    4. Running VCO Tour (Training Center for producing Virgin Coconut Oil in the traditional way)
    5. Building more facilities like canal, ponds...etc to increase infrastructure
    6. Running Coffee Shop (hopefully organically)
    7. Running English/Foreign course (conversation)
    8. Running field trip (homeschooling)
    9. Running farm stay
    So there will be lots of field chores, a great combination of feeling with passion n love the mother nature would in harmony so all our tasks full fill to the never-ending learning lesson of a healthy & happy life.

    In the long-term, through our eco Sustainable living that will inspire us to live a more earth-friendly lifestyle, we would like to take care of the grandma or grandpa or older people or others (especially who have already been around to the fancy hospitals for health care services, but still no result even worse) in our farm stay, by feeding them (take care of them) with our own natural tropical food & drink, also some little physics exercise (meditation & yoga), into separate holidays with the unique restoration of the environment also offering practicing together to produce Virgin Coconut Oil (VCO) in the traditional way for fun (as we all know the benefit of VCO for life).
    so...if we are in the exact same page, then lets the knowledge become power and we need all the help we can get.

    We have some wild cats
    Smoke-free home (for smokers: none minds outdoor smoking)

    You would help on the farm about 25 hours a week, We are looking forward to getting to know many interesting people.

    If possible, please bring eco-friendly products (soaps, shampoos, washes) to help keep our soil free of chemicals.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have the opportunity to experience producing virgin coconut oil and all the local culture as we are located in a very culture village, In our village you'll easily get in touch with the local culture, I have traveled a lot before settling down. Reason why? We like it a lot to meet new people and have nice exchanges. We had many travelers who came for last few of years - they know the area very well, we all learned and we all work, we all practice together, you could be in a nice team work of travelers! guaranteed that we will look after each other friendship.
    Base Camp is near the main road that exposes to the real everyday life in West Kalimantan as they interact with the others. We hope that, this is an incredible eye-open enrichment opportunity for cultural exchange.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Planting coconut trees at serenity (camp 2) or gardening/ landscaping: moving some small bushes and trees, watering, picking, weeding, seeding, planting, composting or house cleaning, building projects in the field, or a nice mix of them, you are free to do what you really care about. we let you manage your time as you preferred!
    We learn we all work, just let's do it together with us (learning by doing to never end possibilities).

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Indonesian: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    If you like a "back to the nature" experience, you'll love our place, You have your own room(our beds facilities maximum occupied for 6 people), 2 shared showers and cooking together in the kitchen (the restaurant), cooking our own food is the best healthier food, we provide vegetarian with eggs (natural foods). We drink rainwater, you are free to boil it experiencing the jungle leaf tea if you like.
    We also provide bicycles so you can cycle in your spare time around the village or use my motorcycle when I am around.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Sungai Nipah & Peniti are a small villages at the seashore with a lot of energy, there's always something to do or to see here and around, enjoying the full moon and the five billion stars, walk around, jump to the public bus and go somewhere further, bicycle...etc, Let's enjoy the life, finding great eco-projects allowing people to connect around the world and developing tools to facilitate that. etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 25 hours , 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 495864883354