Come and help with conservation and community awareness projects in Carmarthenshire, Wales, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

310 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    17  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 13 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *****

    Covid Update.

    I do not have any accommodation for workawayers to enter isolation, so can not take people who are travelling from outside the UK and need to enter quarantine.

    ********************

    I have a small holding in a beautiful setting in South Wales with an income from both self catering holiday accommodation and livestock (sheep and poultry). I am the chairman of a voluntary group focused on sustainable development linked to tourism and recreational use of the green space of the local forest and mountain. One of the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

    I provide accommodation for workaways in a 3 bedroom static caravan or there is hard surface parking for those with their own accommodation or space to camp. All tasks workawayers will be asked to undertake involve conservation or working with community volunteers .

    My priorities are finding someone interested in helping with a social media project, or someone with woodworking experience or someone who would enjoy manual labour working outside on conservation projects.

    I have written up a list of the projects below.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You would learn about life on a small holding in Wales

    You would learn about the heritage and culture of a forest based community in the UK.

    With any of the projects I would hope that we can learn from each other.

    The role that conservation grazing plays in a healthy ecosystem,

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I can offer workawayers the option of the use of a static caravan on the farm (which is connected to electric supply, and mains water) Or there is hard standing for a van, or space for camping. -

    Highest priority projects.

    Constructing chicken tractors and beehives as part of conservation projects. . I need to learn the woodworking skills to be able to construct these for my self by working alongside by but will in turn be teaching you on the best designs for both.

    Hedgerow management, including hedge laying.

    The volunteers in the local tourism association need assistance with a community led project in using social media to raise the profile of the cultural heritage of the local forest and mountain and to create online descriptions of walks through the forest and mountain.


    Background projects.

    I have taken on a small holding which had not been proactively managed by the previous elderly owners. I have the space to host a team of workawayers sharing between us our collective knowledge to achieve tasks.

    There are a wide range of conservation projects that I am working on where I will be sharing my knowledge with workawayers and other situations where I would be looking for workawayers who could share their knowledge and skills.

    1. Manage the hedges for the benefit of wildlife. -

    2. Building resources for pollinators.

    3. Establishing wildflower meadows this work includes conservation grazing with sheep and penned poultry.

    4. Tackling weeds and restoring an old orchard and establishing a forest garden.

    5. .I have been reading about passive solar greenhouse, and I am interested in building one if any workawayer has the construction skills to help and can take the lead on this project.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Workawayers will have the choice of use of a 3 bedroom static caravan, private hard standing space to park their own van, or space to camp.

    Alternatively, there is space for camper vans or caravans if people have their own space they wish to bring with them. With an electric hook up available as well as bathroom and WiFi.

    I go into town once a week to buy all the ingredients for the meals planned by the workawayers. Workawayers are free to cook for themselves or share meals as they prefer.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I have created space so that people can develop / work on their own business plans or do course work for their studies.

    There is a village with shop and pub in walking distance, and this is an area popular with walkers, mountain bikers, and horse riders who are in the know about the area. -

    There is a limited bus service which passes the gate (but only one bus each way a day, and none on Sunday). I am happy to give workawayers a lift into town when I am going there.

    If workawayers have their own transport Its only a short drive to the Brecon Beacon National Park, or to the longest beach in Wales.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have fibre broadband.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Plenty of hard standing.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Dogs would be fine but must be kept on a lead at all times when outside the building.. - For other pets please contact me to discuss.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 469819398991