Come and join the family fun, Newfoundland, Canada!

Country

Canadá

190 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    16  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *️️️*️️️Non-Canadians must hold a working holiday visa to visit us*️️️*️️️

    Katy, Lloyd, Mai and Baby Belle

    Located on Random Island, at the end of the road, on the edge of pristine wilderness and ocean. We are a young happy family with a robust, delightful two year old and almost not a baby!

    We have a beach facing property on a fjord, during the summer months there are icebergs, whales and eagles on our doorstep. We are slowly becoming more self sufficient setting up a homestead style of living. The family includes today, 2 adults, 1 toddler, 1 newborn (May 2018), 2 dogs (up to 10 puppies), 1 boisterous cat, 1 horse, 10 goats and many chickens.

    We have been hosting with workaway for three years and have really enjoyed the company of all our hostees! We have made great progress on our property and projects over the last two years and could not have done it without the help of our guests!

    We are admittedly overly enthusiastic and optimistic :)

    We want to eventually start an adventure tourism business and as such are a busy family and need help with the homestead and projects we have on the go. We make and up cycle materials and find thrifty and holistic ways to do things. We farm, we forage and we try to be self sufficient. We are both travelers with itchy feet and love the company of workaways.

    When you stay with us you are part of the family. We have horse riding, snorkelling, scuba diving, kayaking, boat trips and bicycles for workaways to use. We back onto woodland with walking/hiking trails, swimming ponds and horseback riding trails.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will be living with well traveled, worldly Newfoundlander and British hosts. We live in a typical Newfoundland bay area and live closely with the land and the sea. Lots to see and lots to learn.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have LOTS to do so let us know what you're interested in!

    Family life maintenance and childcare

    *️️️️️️️️️️️Helping to run the show when it comes to feeding the family and the workaways. Maintaining a tidy, clean and functioning house. Offering an extra hand or entertainment for the children when possible (not childcare as a parent is always present). Mai loves meeting new friends and showing them how to use a trampoline.

    Building/ Infrastructure development

    *️️️️️️️️️️️ Our primary task for the year is to finalize the renovations in our house. We have moved forward considerably this year and are very close to having the tasks complete. We need help to finish creating a functional space for operating a business from a family home. This involves, building or adapting furniture (beds/shelves/draws), painting, laying flooring and other odd jobs.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️We have a second building that we might renovate.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️We have vans that need to be up-cycled into glam-ping campers.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ We have a school bus structure that is being transformed into a chicken coop/garden nursery. One coop has been built but assistance is needed in transforming the rest of the bus into a functioning area to manage chickens, process eggs and prepare nursery plants. This includes a large alder area that needs fencing, a compost scratching area that needs building and a chicken dust bath that needs to be made.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ We are developing our food storage areas, creating a root cellar to store our fruit and vegetables. The initial structure is now in place but some storage compartments need to be developed and setup. This is a process that is planned to happen throughout the year but before Autumn.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️Though most of the ground work has been completed there a a few areas that need to be finished. This will mostly involve excavator, tractor, and dump trailer work to move earth and build rock foundations.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ We cleared an orchard area last year, this needs some additional work now that the ground has settled. The area needs to be fenced / goat proofed, trees planted and the ground seeded and managed
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ Several additional structures and fencing tasks need to be completed.

    Gardening

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a bunk bed bedroom and can take up to 4 workers at a time. There are many places to go to get privacy. We have 1 shower and 1 toilet. There are also camping spots if someone would prefer.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are 40min from the nearest town. We are 2.5 hours away from St Johns, a bus can transport you for $40 each way.

    Lots to do around the property, biking, walking, hiking, swimming, snorkelling, kayaking and horseback riding if experienced enough.

    As we have a newborn please don't express interest if you are looking for a party environment, you'll be disappointed.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    max 25 hours/week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)














Número de referencia de anfitrión: 466222938657