Help building a sustainable life in Flores Island, Azores, Portugal

Country

Portugal

698 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    87.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Welcome home beautiful souls!
    I'm Laia, a nomad who's passionate about nature and sustainability.

    Looking for potencial Housesitters or project mates for the next year.

    Some years ago I purchased this land on Ilha das Flores, about 3000 square meters, and I then began planting an abundance of veggies and restoring the stone house to make it comfortable for living with respect to the environment. It was my aim to create a safe space of calmness and creativity outside of the "system".
    The view from the house is just magnificent, you feel lucky to be surrounded by such beauty every day. The soil is extremely fertile with an abundance of moisture and minerals. If you enjoy meditation like me, you will find these surroundings are very well suited and connected with the rhythms of the earth and nature.

    The property is fairly remote, we only hear the ocean waves and the birdsong most nights, which cultivates the right environment for creative processes.
    I'm creating a food forest system based on principles from agro-ecology and permaculture. There are already some adapted vegetables growing by themselves and some fruit tress.

    I am looking to share the land with like-minded people who would like to stay for longer periods than just a few weeks, although this can be accommodated also.

    If you are interested in building a cabin out of bamboo or wood etc., there is plenty of ideal land available to do so. There are also some vacant properties adjacent to mine, that are available to purchase for a low price. My dream for this property is to create a community where we all help each other and play music, hang out and love life together! (And respect the damn planet).

    The house is small, made out of stone, and is pretty off the grid. We have consistent and plentiful solar electricity. There is a fridge-freezer, a gas cooker and a wood stove for heating. There is a separate wooden out-house that contains a compost toilet. Right now the shower is outside (but you can also make a bath) and there is a wood water heater.
    The next improvement is building a bathtub/green house with stone, bottles, wood, cob and windows. Also, making some wooden furniture to improve the actual kitchen is very much on the agenda.

    The property doesn't have road access, the path is a 5-10 minute walk down a footpath from the village.
    The closest shop or bar is about 15 minutes drive, and if you don't have vehicular transport it's more like a 2 hour hike. There is a bus two times a day, however.

    I tend to go travelling throughout the winter months, but sometimes for longer. I don't like the house to be unoccupied, and for the garden to go unmaintained, so this is the kind of project that is fully immersive and for you to really adjust to life here. And, taking care of the two cats who stay here year-round! Generally, this is very suitable for couples who want some peace and quiet.

    This autumn there will be plenty of veggies, beans, tomatoes, eggplants...and many pumpkins ready to harvest for the winter :)
    I'm looking for house-sitters from September/October. Ideally for at least 6 months, and up to two years. The longer the better.

    So please, if you think my cottage is for you and you would like to know more, be in touch X

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I can share my knowledge about plants and permaculture. I like to make natural soaps,creams, kombucha, sauerkraut and some more things that we can do together if you want.
    We always learn a lot living in such a isolated and beautiful place making experiencies and creating things with our hands.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I would really appreciate help working with wood and stone to build structures and furniture. Would love to host someone with passion for this kind of life who want to stay long term with the possibility of house-sitting while I'm away.
    As well appreciate help in every day tasks like cooking, cleaning and gardening.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Catalan: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would like to learn german, practice french and improve Italian. I can teach Spanish,catalan and portuguese with an azorean/spanish accent.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    24 square meters stone house with a bedroom looking to the ocean and a provisional kitchen downstairs.
    There is a compost toilet outside the house.

    While I'm still here you will sleep in a tent and we share the house during the day and when I leave you are welcome to sleep in the bedroom.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a creek 5 minutes walking from the house were you can refresh in summer.
    The island is plenty of beautiful hikes to do and some free campsites. Many waterfalls and secret spots in the sea to visit and take a dip. If you like I can borrow a fishing rod for you to use.
    As well it's interesting getting to know the beautiful people living on the island and participate in activities and parties.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is electricity to charge computers and very good 4G data connection.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 442574383637