Abandoned village restoration project near Lugo, Spain

  • 58 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 jul 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Rebecca (43), a translator and book author. I was born and raised in the UK, and have spent the past five years living in beautiful northern Spain. I recently moved from a mountain cabin in Asturias to an abandoned hamlet with two hectares of land in Galicia to embark upon a new life project - the creation of a sustainable homestead and meditation retreat centre.

    I have many enthusiastic ideas for developing this place but for now the focus needs to be on a basis of little by little.

    I currently live here with my two dogs and two cats. I plan to keep chickens, ducks, bees, and in the long term donkeys and sheep. Therefore I would welcome anyone who has experience of erecting chain link fencing and/or building a fair sized chicken coop (there may be an outbuilding that can be adapted for this purpose); also anyone who can help building compost toilets and creating a veg garden with raised beds. There are also extensive renovation and building works required for the farmhouse itself, plus some outbuildings, so I would particularly welcome anyone with experience of stonewalling, roofing, plumbing etc.

    The project is right at the beginning, so there is much work to be done (mainly clearing brambles at this stage!) and currently limited accommodation. I have space for two motorhomes and the possibility to place a caravan and tents (weather permitting) in one of the fields. There is soon to be a bell tent and a camper van available for guests, and plenty of space for anyone who has their own van. The kitchen and bathroom are currently shared with myself and any others present until further facilities can be constructed.

    I am happy to cook meals for guests once per week but would appreciate people seeing to themselves for most of the time. I will of course provide the food.

    The property is not on a bus route nor within walking distance to the nearest village, which is 10 minutes' drive away, and has supermarkets, cafe/bars, pharmacy and a bank. Lugo is the nearest city at 30 minutes' drive and is famous for being the only city in the world to have a complete (walkable) Roman wall surrounding it. The cities of Santiago de Compostela and A Coruña are each 1 hour away. The farm is out in the countryside with no local bus route but I will happily drop you into town should you wish to explore further.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Being a translator, I very much welcome Spanish and French speakers for a language exchange.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Clearing brambles
    Gardening - building raised beds, strimming, mowing, weeding etc.
    Renovations - roofing, painting, plumbing etc.
    Building - compost toilets, chicken coop, chainlink fencing, stonewalling.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Currently there is a bell tent and camper van available for workawayers, and lots of land for people in camper vans.
    The house has a fully working shared bathroom and kitchen in the process of being renovated.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Camino de Santiago passes very close to the farm. It is actually located very close to Melide, where two Caminos meet and join (Camino Francés and Camino Primitivo), which is a cultural hub for all pilgrims.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Friendly dogs are always welcome.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 436881667248

Comentarios (1)


Comentarios



Totally off geid experience:Mountain forest in Catalonia, Spain
Help with DIY and my dogs in a village called Costitx, Mallorca