Gardening and Good Times in Woodbridge, Tasmania



72 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hi, my name is Martine. My partner Paul and I have been living in beautiful southern Tasmania since 2012. We moved here from Sydney to establish a sustainable life style after travelling and volunteering on organic farms in Europe in 2008. We realised we wanted to live differently in our years of semi-retirement, and Tasmania offered us what we were looking for. We have a small property with a vegetable garden and fruit trees, ornamental garden areas, some chickens, one dog and one cat.

    Trained as social workers, we both work part time. When we are not working you can find us in our garden fighting the weeds and growing vegetables! We are loving our adventure with growing food and trying to do the right thing for the planet. Our other interests are reading, listening to music, trying to practice mindfulness. We live in a very friendly road and if you come to stay you'll meet other lovely people. There is plenty going on in our small and idyllic community at Woodbridge.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    When we travelled and volunteered in Canada, Ireland, England, France, Italy and Nepal in 2008, we really enjoyed the opportunity to learn about other places and people by being part of the everyday life of our hosts. We offer the same opportunity. Come and spend time with us, learn about the Australian way of life, and experience a rural lifestyle in Australia's best state - Tasmania! We are passionate about our corner of the world and will enjoy sharing our excitement with you. On days off we would love to show you around the area.

    In our area there is a lot of fruit growing - apples, cherries, strawberries, food related small industries such as honey production, smoked fish, organic meat production, cheese making, boutique cider and beer production. There are many people moving to our area seeking sustainable lifestyles, and so there are many people like us who are committed to sustainability, reducing our impact on the environment, and being responsible local and global citizens. We love conversation with people of all ages, cultures, life stages, and are LGBTQI friendly. We want to learn from you too, so we hope there will be lots of opportunity to share ideas, experiences, food etc. We can teach you what we have learnt about growing vegetables and making compost.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We welcome anyone with an interest in helping with gardening and general maintenance around the property. In September, October and November, there is a lot to do in the vegetable patch and in other parts of the garden. Our need for help is urgent at this time of the year when the weeds take off!

    This year we also need help with some landscaping projects. The work to be done is simple, but if you have special skills in landscaping and/or building, all the better. Our hope is that if you spend time with us we will work alongside you doing what needs to be done, but also hope you can work independently when needed. Particular projects we have in mind include exterior painting, helping us make an area for a fire pit, plus plenty of general gardening.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We believe we have the best Workaway accomodation in the southern hemisphere! A small two room cottage next to the house (see photos...the blue building), provides you with privacy and a view of the vegetable garden. The cottage has a queen size bed and two bunk beds with all linen, blankets and towels provided. The cottage is recently renovated and is very clean and comfortable. A small kitchen in the cottage includes everything you need for basic cooking. There's a small wood burning heater, a television and CD player, and WIFI access, with a guest shower just inside the back door of the main house, and a state-of-the-art composting toilet for the exclusive use of visitors.

    We'll provide basic supplies such as milk, bread, tea, coffee, sugar and eggs so you can manage your own breakfast each day. On days when we are not going to work, we'll provide lunch when we are all working together. In the evenings there will be a mixture of meals we'll prepare together, and other evenings when you may prepare your own food in the cottage. It will really depend on what's happening and what works best for everyone. We are very flexible and hope that we develop a good plan for meals when you arrive. We would love to learn from you if you like to cook. We don't eat a lot of red meat and would really like to learn how to be better vegetarians!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Woodbridge is a small village with a local shop and post office AND a world class function centre and cafe/restaurant on the water's edge at Peppermint Bay (see photos). It's a great spot for a coffee and soaking up the sun. You can walk to Peppermint Bay in 10 minutes, or make use of our bicycles.

    The surrounding area is full of natural beauty. We live near the water on D'Entrecasteaux Channel and there is opportunity for fishing or boating, or just sitting by the water and relaxing. In your spare time you might like to visit Bruny Island, or head over the hill to Cygnet's cafes and restaurants, and onwards to the apple growing centre of Tasmania in the Huon Valley. Or head into Hobart city to Salamanca Markets on a Saturday, the internationally renowned MONA, or up Mount Wellington for amazing views of the city and surrounds.

    Southern Tasmania has so much to offer in the way of tourist sights, lots of possibilities for bush walking/hiking, and fantastic local produce. It's a foodies paradise! If you are interested in going into Hobart for the day, we are happy to drive you in on the days we go to work in the city. There is also a bus service from Woodbridge to Kingston and Hobart.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.8)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 432624545418