Positive folks for help with some creative projects building and community in Iowa, USA

  • Estados Unidos
  • 48 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 22 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos



  • Descripción


    We are Bob and Xene, artists in Iowa. We live in an art installation space that Bob has created over the course of the last 20 years from old, dismantled barns and other found and repurposed items. Firmly in the 'Outsider Art' category, the buildings and yard are a statement about excess in America but also speak to the ingenuity of repurposing and finding abundance in what comes our way. We share our space with the intent of helping people see an alternative to normal societal structure and expectations. Last year we built a wood-fired pizza oven to facilitate communal meals and this year we are experimenting with roasting all sorts of vegetables in it with absolutely delicious results! We seek to share our space and garden abundance with others of high vibrational frequency while leaving behind as low of an environmental impact as possible.

    Our list of projects is long and extensive, but we take a very casual approach to work, going with the flow and never against it. We have recently acquired an old school bus that we would like to transform into a seasonal tiny home, and we have a 1974 mobile home in severe need of a makeover. Both of us are exceptionally handy, but we have not tackled jobs like this before, so we will learn alongside each other as we go. Our focus is on building community and creating an oasis where those seeking to escape 'normal' society can find internal joy. 

    There is no air conditioning here and summers in Iowa can be brutal, but we love to celebrate a job well-done and will often take off for a day of kayaking if the heat makes working impossible. It is pretty common for us to work early mornings or evenings to get to the celebration point in the height of summer. You would be included in our adventures if that appeals to you. We live a very simple life attune to nature and do not fight it if it gets too hot, we simply accept what is and make the most of it the best way we know how. 

    There is always a steady flow of friends, old and new, coming and going who help out and who love to share meals. Throughout the summer there is rarely a dull moment around the Barnyard. 

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our place is unique in every possible way. We reject the narrative of society and live very much with the cycles of nature. In everything we do we hope to be an example of stewards of the land and a place of peace and joy to others. Visitors will find the journey up the lane changes them and setting foot on the property seems to suck the worries and woes of life right out of your very being. There are so many things to look at that even with a year or more of staying here, it would be impossible to absorb it all.

    In addition to the art installation space, we have a private beach on the Wapsipinicon river directly across from the state park where we often enjoy the sunsets with a beverage and friends. There are forested trails to explore and a plethora of wild mushrooms to pick and eat after a good rain.

  • Ayuda


    The most important project on our list is a new bathroom and tiny house build. The foundations are poured, septic hookups in place, electric and water run, and we will be building walls as our first project of the season. This project is planned to be an ICF concrete building housing three bathrooms with showers.

    We have a tiny house structure to build out next to the bathroom building, a 1974 mobile home that we hope to convert to a communal kitchen, and a Blue Bird school bus to transform into a seasonal vacation/workaway sleeping space. (Super cool and potentially very educational projects to accomplish!)

    We have trails that need clearing, steps to build out steep hiking trails, and next winter's wood that needs splitting.

    Gardening is another task we could use help with, everything from planting, to canning, along with terracing and creating new garden plots. We seek to create communal space and hope to produce food enough to sell at markets in years to come.

    You would not need a specific skill set, but if you have one, we will shift into that project to utilize your expertise while you are here.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We would love to help those seeking to improve their English, and while we have no background in other languages, sharing songs in other languages sounds fun.

  • Alojamiento


    Sharing food is a vital part of creating connection and my personal artistic expression. We will offer one shared meal a day, usually in the late afternoon. You would have access to a refrigerator for keeping your own food cold if needed, and there are several propane cook stoves on the property that could be used. There is a wood-fired pizza oven and communal outdoor kitchen area that we utilize with friends as often as possible through the summer months. Most of our food is vegetarian, some vegan, but very rarely do we ever eat meat ourselves. The pizza oven is often kept burning for weeks on end, and with help maintaining the fire, would be available every day for cooking.

    Our current accommodations are a bit rustic, as we have only one or two open spaces for sleeping. The bedding would be clean, and the living quarters dry, but there is no running water or toilets inside the space. Friends actually love to stay in our outbuildings, as they are super creative, but they are not for those who might be uptight about random bugs or dust. Nomads, van life, and folks willing to camp will have as much privacy as they like on our land if you come to stay, as we have plenty of space to share over 20 acres.

    We have one flushing toilet available and several porta-potties on the land. There is well water, tested and of excellent quality for drinking but the only shower we have to share is solar. We do have a portable propane on-demand water heater and with help, could set that up for use until the bathroom project is complete.

    We are 0.7 miles from the nearest grocery store and even closer to the downtown of our small town, so food and beverages are easy to retrieve when needed.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our small town is dotted with small shops and is in the process of a grant-driven facade makeover. The typical activity in the area is drinking, but we do not participate in that local scene. We bring musicians and friends to our space with the intention of creating an alternative cultural exchange. There is a beautiful state park directly across the river from our place and a walking bridge down the road from us provides easy access to the park. Biking is a challenge as the terrain here is very hilly, but it can be done with some effort. We have electric bikes to make getting around in town easier. There are some beautiful, secluded park areas here that are favorites of ours and we would be happy to direct you to them should you desire to leave the property. Most people that visit however, hate leaving once they get here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a reliable wifi connection and can provide access to those that need to use it. Digital nomads are certainly welcome and we would embrace the idea of creating videos about the projects we are doing. We are currently seeking a videographer for this purpose.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of space for campervans in our space, but we cannot provide electrical hookups. Motorhomes and buses would be more of a challenge due to their weight and size, but we could discuss it with those who are interested in a stay.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Large dogs would need to be very well behaved. We have no fences to contain animals and picking up after your animal would need to be taken very seriously. We have a 9-year-old Scottie with excellent social skills and pups that fight with Willow would be a problem, but she it tolerant of most dogs and will put them in their place if she feels threatened. Dogs that can just hang out and chill are certainly welcome. During events, we may ask that dogs be kept from the main village area.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 425835539919

Comentarios (2)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Come stay with us on our Vegan Homestead and help with renovations cleaning, decorating and community gardening in in Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Let us give you our perspective on New England, one of the most interesting parts of America and help with projects, USA