Off grid living with animals in a lush green valley in Serra da Estrela natural park, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado   Última hora

302 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    13/04/2021

 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Seasonal update:
    We are now getting ready for the new gardening season and we are so excited and have so many plans!
    Since we have a very small baby we definitely need the extra hands now more than ever. We are mostly looking for someone with experience gardening, and with the confidence to work independently, as we don't have much time to show how things are done, because of our baby.
    We are also trying to start a little mushrooms growing project so we are a bit busy with that also - If you have an interest, or even better, experience in growing mushrooms, this might be a good experience for you too.
    You must also be prepared to work with animals as we have quite a few and they take up a big part of the daily tasks, and bonus if you're a good cook (vegan/veggie)!
    We have a gas heater in the volunteer's caravan for those cold days and nights.

    ---------------

    My name is Sara (29 portuguese) and I am running a quinta (farm) with my partner, Steffen (32 german), and our baby Sean (born 11-11-2020) at the foothills of Serra da Estrela natural Park, the biggest one in Portugal and featuring also the highest mountain in the country.
    Tir na Sí is the name of the project, and it's 1,5 hectares (circa 4 acres) in a beautiful valley with scattered abandoned ruins, with a stream running all year long, lots of shade in the summer, beautiful views to the mountains, close to historical villages, castles, lakes, river beaches, and the list goes on...
    I'm glad I have decided early enough that I wanted to create a life for myself that inspires me rather than one that consumes me, and to escape the endless cycle of working - paying rent. I aim to create my own little world and take steps towards reducing my impact on this planet, to live a more meaninful life in harmony with the ecosystem around me and build my dream home and gardens, surrounded by other happy free people.
    I am now going into my third season and I am very happy with what has already happened in the short time I have been here. A lot of people came, lived here, visited, volunteered, built, put their energy into the project and left their mark and personality in different corners of the land.
    I have built my beautiful home, a 6 meter solid wall yurt. We have an outdoor community kitchen, compost toilets and a shower cabin with hot showers, a veggie garden, polytunnel, lots of animals - 2 donkeys, a dog, a rescued pet pig, two cats, chickens and ducks. Not to mention the bees ( there are several bee hives at Tir na Sí).
    There are lots of things that need to be done on the land, from building (mainly wood, stone or other natural materials), to collecting and chopping wood, gardening and weeding, general farm work. There is always a to-do list, and I try to assign the right job to the right person. I also often need farm-sitters as I need to be away from time to time, either with work or leisure, so that also means I have preference for long-term volunteers, but open to anything from one week onwards :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    My big goal for this year is to keep the energies positive and high in this beautiful piece of land, raise the vibration on this point of the earth, and attract beautiful people here. I hope this will be a place where you can have many new experiences, meet new people, and leave with lots of stories to tell.
    Since I am portuguese, I can share my knowledge of the country and language, which might be helpful in your travels through Portugal. Other interests I have that you could expect to hear me talk about: foraging, permaculture and gardening, mushrooms (yes, mushrooms!), animals, Ireland (my home for 4 years), everything irish, including the harp (I play, or try to), druidism and nature spirituality, plant medicine, the universe, the moon, the meaning of life, etc! I am a very specific person, that collected specific experiences in this life, hopefully with one or two things to share with the next person :)
    I can also advice nice places to visit in the area.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main tasks right now are as follow:
    Gardening
    Feeding and taking care of the animals
    General farm and land work
    DIY/ Building (mainly wood) for the right volunteers :)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation may vary throughout the year, and will be discussed before arrival. Depending on the weather and on the availability, could either be a tent, a caravan, or a campervan.
    There is a separate building for shower and washing. We are happy to report we now finally have hot showers indoors!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week.
    Nearest village is 1,5 km away with a little shop, cafe, pizzaria/bakery and pharmacy.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Workawayers with campervan have a large private field easy to park the van surrounded by stream, about 200 meters from the main area where the community kitchen and toilets is.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5h, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 421183386715