Join me and help with s conservation projects and building a wilderness camp in Sodwana Bay, South Africa

  • Sudáfrica
  • 461 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 3 dic 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    My project is in a remote part of South- Africa, bordering the Greater Isimangaliso Wetland Park, South- Africa's second biggest wilderness area and a UNESCO world heritage site for Bio-diversity and Natural beauty. The project is based just north of the famous scuba diving destination, Sodwana Bay and next to Lake Sibaya, South- Africa's biggest fresh water lake , filled with over 50 hippo's and croc's. Over 400 bird species and loads more to make this a unique wilderness area, not to mention that it is walking distance to one of Africa's most breath taking tropical beaches.

    The camp is in the heart of Zululand , close to Swaziland and Mozambique. From here operate my safari company and oversee various volunteer projects.

    For years now my place is a get together for volunteers, students and random travelers and we get involved in various conservation and social project. Currently we are monitoring the last hippo's living in Lake Sibaya and updating the species list of the area. We also get involved in many beach and lake clean-ups, visit the parks and try to have fun while learning about the wildlife and doing our bit to save Lake Sibaya.

    Thanks to Covid, most of my projects have been neglected and most have to be build up from start again. Our campsite and back packers was destroyed ( That's another story) and the vegetable gardens are in a sad state. I haven't had many volunteers the last few years and the beach and lake area is in need of a desperate clean up.
    On the conservation side , I haven't done a wildlife count in years and our hippo project will start as soon as possible.
    With that all said, I need a lot of assistance and there are many things you can do to help out.

    The area is amazing. Nature is mind-blowing and there are loads to see and do. We usually work during the week and on weekends you are free to explore the area. I also do a lot of safaris and there are always the chance to join on them.

    My place has a relaxed atmosphere and volunteers are encourage to work at their own pace and get involved where they want, off cause with some guidance.

    So , if you have time on your hand and want to come hang - out, help -out, learn a bit or just laze around, this little paradise might just be the place.

    Save travels and hope to see you soon in the middle of nowhere!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our projects is all about wildlife and conservation. While volunteering with us you will work closely with our research staff, training will be provided where necessary. Subjects that volunteers and students will gain experience in will include: Wildlife/Species identification, wildlife tracking, GIS mapping, Data capture(Field work)wildlife monitoring(Hippopotamus) Wetlands/ grassland management, all this and a rich cultural experience as the project is located in rural Zululand( traditional farmers)
    Its also a great area for scuba diving, lazy days on the beach , great for seeing the Big 5, long walks in the forest, stunning sunsets and loads more

  • Ayuda


    There are lots to get involved in and I encourage volunteers or students to take part in projects that they find interesting. I have different projects available and volunteers are encouraged to take initiative and work at their own pace. Currently our main project focus on the protection, monitoring and researching the greater Lake Sibaya area. We also have a vegetable garden that provides fresh vegetables to the community, a after school center that we are busy renovating and many other tasks around our camp. We also offer internship programs and study support for students.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Afrikaans: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a comfortable dormitory, campsite and communal kitchen. You can pitch your own tent, use one of mine or stay in the dormitory. If I have a private room available, you can also use that.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our base camp is walking distance from one of Africa's most idyllic beaches, nearby Sodwana Bay offers great Scuba Diving and nearby National Parks are ideal safari destinations, Imfolozi, Mkhuz and Thembe elephant park is close by. Our camp offers more that 50 activities over weekends and volunteers can arrange these at the camp

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There are miles and miles of wilderness here, feel free to pitch a tent on camp in your van

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 413628579882

Comentarios (5)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help me with creative DIY and eco-construction projects in Swellendam, South Africa
Help us to take care of the farm animals, garden and learn more about sustainable living in Kamiesberg, South Africa