Looking for help in the magical Knysna, South Africa

Country

Sudáfrica

actualizado  

372 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    73.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hay,

    Thanks for checking me out,

    This is a call out for a person or couple to come assst with our season, general hospitality stuff,

    For atound 3 Weeks when we are busy, please reach out if you think this could be you.

    Everything Below will also be happening...:)

    Farm Life

    The writing below is a mish mash, written over a year - All still relevant.
    But best considered as loose sentances expressing various project needs than an actual English Paragraph...:)

    I live on a farm and always need help with various projects.

    There is always a need for maintenance and carpentry.
    Needing to start prepping spaces for season - decorating Tepees, sanding and varnishing tables, buildin wattle Furniture.
    There is a large garden that can always be better Loved

    Môre general info about the space below..

    I have set u 6 spaces -3 Teepees, 2 Geodomes, and One sandbag house approximately 20 minutes from town (8km on a decent dirt road).

    After a break from volunteerism,
    I'm ready to upgrade spaces in a collaborative way with the beautiful souls that travel through the Workaway space.
    A large part of the farms evolution has been through and thanks to work aways.
    We are 4 years into the Journey to becoming a full eco training center and are looking for fresh input.

    Be great if anyone comfortable with the basics of electrickery could help birth a brand new Solar Cooker working with US-based partners. Any skill level welcome

    A recent trip to J-bay has completely inspired me that painting the otherwise drab (whitewashed) long drops could be a complete game-changer for client's nature experience. (4 Down - One to Go) - The Hobbit House.

    I stay alone except for 1 Malawian that does most of the heavy lifting and general farm work.
    I have 2 children (Quinn almost 5) and Laya 9 that visit every second weekend.
    Life is beautiful and buzzy

    In addition, there is amazing food growing in the garden and the aim is to get a smoothie a day out of the garden and share a beautiful dinner together each evening.

    I'm currently a flexitarian but happy to be vegan/veggie/omnivore - falling in line with the individual person's needs are.

    There is lots of alone time as I work full time on my Solar Cooking company during the day.
    Evenings are relatively free.

    Other things to note

    You will be located right next to the largest chunk of indigenous Forest anywhere in South Africa with an hour walk to a beautiful waterfall and other abundant Forest walks.
    You will have ample time to explore and enjoy what the location has to offer. People come here from all over the world to experience this raw nature - I just wish to make it more beautiful.

    There is great wifi on offer - you will most likely stay in a Teepee unless fully booked. Tent over season

    I picked up some breathing challenges so any knowledge on health/breathing exercises would be a huge bonus.
    Putting a big priority on Health in 20 22-3.

    Am also looking to re-create and decorate each space afresh - a spruce up and space clearing exercise.
    There is also an opportunity to get involved on the solar side - either with admin or heading up charity research.

    Basically, I'm looking for Self sufficient Eco Ninjas to come and play a part and join the growing international web of consciousness that comes with sustainable or natural living.

    There is also a new orchard and a large permaculture garden under development.
    Will be opening up spaces to longer-term rentals.
    I'm calling it "sustainability residencies" where one can practice in a real-life situation what living with the elements is actually like.
    Ideally, we would like to host workshops every 6 weeks on these topics.

    This is a snapshot of activities and needs.
    Please reach out to me if any of this sounds like what you are looking for.
    Strong work Ethic and self-motivation is a must.

    Thanks,

    Crosby


    Below is snippets from an older call out

    If you have webbing and photo editing skills, that would also be super amazing

    Skills in permaculture, solar energy, plumbing - eco-building. And/or experience/qualifications with sustainable dev
    If you feel you have skills to share - we can also look at doing workshops at our venue to share with Garden Route locals

    Additionally, I have an upcoming project called the solar caravan which will require a multidisciplinary eco team to identify and assist with resolving some of the most pressing issues in South Africa (and globally) at this moment.
    Like an eco swat team.

    Please message me for more details...
    this kind of collaboration can always be done remotely at the moment.

    We are also especially interested in filmmakers and film editors
    Day to day help with life at the farm can include:
    Help with setting up Infrastructure (building, gardening, venue improvement, etc) and prettifying spaces
    Checking Guests in - showing them where/how it all functions
    Ensuring spaces are clean and ready to receive guests
    Gardening Projects
    Multi miscellaneous Farm Projects - building, installing chimneys for Firebaths maintenance etc

    A Little Background on me and the current situation:

    I moved down from Joburg 5 years ago.
    I have traveled 43 Countries and shared many magical moments helping/being helped along the way and believe in paying it forward, gifting economy, and all things along the line of a new world system - based on people and planet before profit.
    Happiness and keeping it light is important to me.

    I am done with living in cities and can only imagine visiting them for the Holidays.
    I have 2 Children (Quinn 3 and Laya 7) who I adore.
    They live close by with their mom and visit every second weekend.

    Also, there are 2 dogs who Love love.
    We have a large Veggie patch that always needs weeding/planting/seed saving activities etc.

    My - Long Term Vision for the farm is to turn it into an Eco training center, yoga retreat space, permaculture, upcycling, etc, etc...

    Essentially all aspects of sustainable living
    I Would Love to do more Yoga and need encouragement...:)

    Our place is exquisitely beautiful and situated with easy access to Forests, waterfalls, and 40 minutes from the beach.
    25 minutes from Knysna town.

    If you are interested in learning/ teaching or partaking in a journey towards sustainability.
    Please reach out and let's see what skills/knowledge/time we might share together

    We have high-speed WIFI and go into Knysna Town 2-3 times per week so we can arrange collections/drop-offs etc

    Wow - you got to the end, Truly a mish mash, often repeating but totaly relevant.

    Reach Out if you want to come expeerience something a little different.
    Please Note, sustainable liing takes sustained efforts, we prioritise getting the big and small things done while sharing as much laughter as possible while shenanigans continually pop out of the woodwork..

    Life happens while we make plans,

    Have Fun, Safe and Happy travels,

    Crosby

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am sure we will share lots of interesting conversations.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Could Also use a Good carpenter or Garden Ninja.....

    Looking for an artistic fairy to work on this project for at least 3 weeks - 4-5 hours per day would be amazing
    I'm putting a call out for an artistic person to come and paint murals on 5 Wooden Long drop toilets (sit inside) boxes to make them fabulous...!! (Still one left)

    At the moment the Garden is our Big Focus.
    We are just starting out with 4 Hectares of virgin land, we have an earth ship to complete, non-indigenous trees that need clearing - the list goes on.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Afrikaans: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Teepees, Geodomes, sandbag house and Tents.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Its Paradise next to an indigenous forest teeming with wildlife, a walker and nature lovers paradise

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Hi I run two businesses from here and we have full digital connection.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.4)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 674913892872