Come help teenage equestrians learn English in Northwest France! Summer 2019

Country

Francia

74 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    618

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
Únete ya para hablar con este anfitrión
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family-run equestrian centre that runs a summer program: an exciting sleep-away camp for young riders which allows them to both ride at their own level and learn English in small groups. Our campers usually stay for one week (from Saturday to Friday) but sometimes stay for 2 weeks. We mostly have girls, but we do have the occasional boy and most camper range in age from 12 to 18 years old. Their daily schedule generally includes breakfast, a morning English lesson, a morning riding lesson, lunch, afternoon English lesson, afternoon riding class, afternoon snack, dinner, and evening activity. We can only accommodate a maximum of 12 campers at a time, so that we can get to know and keep track of our individually.

    The students work on their riding form, dressage, do some jumping, go on trail rides as well as beach rides (riding level permitting). They also get the chance to live close to horses and interact with them even when not riding.

    Our farm includes around 35 double ponies, 15 shetland ponies, a dog, a cat, some chickens, and a few humans :) The equestrian center has both an indoor and outdoor arena, stables, and riding trails.

    This will be our fifth camp and we are excited to have another good year. We want to help our campers build confidence in both riding and their English skills, make friends, and have memories which will last them for the rest of their lives.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Whether you want to work on your French, understand horses better, help teenagers progress in English, garden, sketch nature scenes, or live with horses, this is the place for you. You can learn about how an equestrian center works, what a family-run farm is like, talk to French people, work in a family environment, work on your horse vocabulary in English and/or French, help teenagers reach their goals, and enjoy a small multi-lingual camp setting.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Your responsibility will be to help campers speak English during lunch time and sometimes help organize activities. Because we want our campers to work on their English, you would ideally be a native speaker or a relatively high-level (B2, C1) English speaker. You would also ideally be a horse lover since you would be living close to horses and working in close proximity to them. You will mostly help us out with the campers, however, and NOT be a groom and your main responsibility will be working with the campers, not the horses.

    You should be a self-starter since you will be part of a small team. If you are looking for a big party scene with many other volunteers, this is not the place for you. If, however, you are a horse lover who loves working on small teams, being in a natural environment, being close to scenic landscape, you would like it here.

    You will work on a small team (the Head Riding Instructor, an assistant riding insturctor, an English teacher, and a camp counselor). You will help out for about 3 hours per day. The beach is not far away and in your free time, you will be able to help out with the horses, sit in on language classes, walk to the beach, work on your French, draw, help organize other horse activities, or stroll the grounds of the equestrian centre. If you like kite-surfing, we can help you book lessons on the beach. The place is ideal for nature lovers, whether you like wide-open fields, walking paths, or beaches.

    Our camps will run during July and August, and you are welcome to stay for one or more weeks.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English, French

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will sleep under a tent with some of the campers, but you will have a real bed and will not be sleeping on the floor in a sleeping bag. There is a mosquito net available so the bugs shouldn’t be a bother. There will be bathroom facilities available for you to shower and wash up.

    You will be able to eat with the campers for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and an afternoon snack if you so desire. However, if you get a hankering for fast food or just want to go to the supermarket, there are many options nearby.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Since we work with teenagers, we are not a drug or alcohol-friendly environment. The beach is close by, there are plenty of trails and nature walks, and we speak both English and French. We are not too far from the city of Nantes and near the seaside resort town of Saint-Brevin-les-Pins.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 395363925481