Experience village life and help with gardening, animal care and DIY in rural Scotland, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

196 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    14  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    13/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live in a small village in Central Scotland - 11 miles westof Stirling and on the edge of the beautiful Trossachs National Park. Our house is in a large garden and we grow & process most of our own vegetable and fruit. We have a large polytunnel which helps us to extend the short Scottish growing season. We have been here for over 15 years now and love all kind of outdoor activities on offer in this beautiful part of the world. Before settling in Scotland we lived in East Africa, Germany and South East Asia. We share our garden with 2 dogs and a flock of hens. Our retired pony lives on a field nearby.
    Covid note: I work in a school with some very vulnerable children. In order to keep the children safe, we are currently only taking double vaccinated workawayers. Thank you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We like to socialise and love to host travellers from around the world. As we are both working and at times home very late, we prefer to have 2 friends or a couple stay. We usually share at least 1 meal per day which will have to be quite flexible. We are vegetarian and like to cook and eat food from all over the world. We mainly speak English together though our family is bilingual and depending on who is home, we will speak German as well. We welcome workawayers who would like to improve their language skills.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our garden is a bit over 2 acres big and we are always in need of some help with keeping on top of it. The works varies with the seasons. We produce and process most of our own vegetable and fruit. We have some ornamental plots and a wildflower meadow but most of our time is spent in the vegetable garden and polytunnel. We rear a small flock of layer hens - quite a few of them are happily retired.
    In the winter we are busy with maintaining the house and sheds and due to the Scottish weather, there is always painting to be done . We have a biomass boiler as well as a woodburning stove and chopping and stacking wood is a nerver ending activity. Any help with this would be appreciated and DIY skills are welcome.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Thai: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in a private holiday cottage in our garden. It has a very bright living room with a TV, a small double bedroom, a bathroom with shower and a large, well equipped kitchen. There is a patio in front of the cottage. Our cottage is strictly non-smoking.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our village is situated on the edge of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs national park and has easy access to all sorts of outdoors activities within a short drive. Alternatively there are many scenic walks within the village and environs. Kippen is a real community with a choice of two busy pubs, a deli/coffee shop and farm shop on the edge of the village. Additionally we have a post office/general store and a quality family butcher selling local meat and a variety of ready to eat home-made food. Both pubs stock a range of beers including those made by our very own micro brewery. Kippen is an ideal base for outdoor activities like hill walking, golfing, kayaking, cycling, open water swimming, tennis and many more. Whiskey distilleries as well as many of Scotland's historic sites and museums are within easy reach.

    Getting around
    We have a bus service which connects the village to Stirling and Balfron and then via trains or buses to the major cities of Scotland. The railway and coach stations in Stirling are 10 miles away and the First Bus No 10/12/C12 connects Kippen to Stirling and Glasgow via Balfron. The bus stop is a few steps from our house. Connections are not great but ok. Check out First Bus website!
    The train from Stirling takes an 45 minutes to Edinburgh and 40 minutes to Glasgow and connections are good - at most times every 30 minutes.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours per day

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)











Número de referencia de anfitrión: 394425532991