Help needed with permaculture project (organic gardening, natural building, food forest) and babysitting in peaceful Galician hamlet in Spain

Country

España

82 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    02/09/2020

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello travellers! We are a Quebec/Galicia couple with tree daughters (10, 7 and 2 years old). We live in rural Galicia, Spain, about 45 minutes drive from the Atlantic coast. We like the idea of self-sufficiency and are creating slowly our food forest/organic gardens. We have so many projects in mind to improve the place, such as building a little guest house out of an old stone building, compost toilet, outdoor shower, etc. We live in an old stone house and we want to renovate it with natural materials. We are currently working on the walls of the basement with cob and natural plasters. We enjoy good food, contact with nature, hiking, going to our many beautiful river spots around here, yoga, reading, playing music (trying), mushroom picking, learning about permaculture, making natural medicine, cosmetics out of plants, meeting with friends, going to cultural events like music festivals, etc. Our daughters are creative happy kids who sure know how to enjoy the outdoors. They are passionate about animals. We have 2 dogs, 3 cats, chickens and honey bees. Our two oldest daughters also practices horsebackriding. We speak many languages at home. Rubén and I speak English together. I speak French with my daughters. Rubén speaks Galician to them... and the girls all speak Spanish between the three of them! We love travelling, learning about other cultures and languages and having nice conversations, so we will be happy to meet other travellers and share about our experiences!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    By staying with us, you can improve your language skills in French, English, Spanish or Galician. You can learn a lot about organic gardening, natural building, medicinal plants, mushrooms identification, bee keeping. You will also benefit from the peacefulness and beauty of the area!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have so many projects in mind but we have a toddler around, so things are going slow! We are looking for people willing to help us with a bit of everything, from organic gardening (from weeding, planting, watering, to picking and transformation), to natural building and baby sitting. Some help with cooking, cleaning and general maintenance of the place would also be appreciated. Tell us what you're most passionnate about or what your skills are and we'll sure find something to keep you busy!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Galician: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    At the moment, we can only offer camping for accommodation. We have all the equipment needed to rest comfortably. The tent is situated on a nice piece of land next to our house with a great view on the valley. The bathroom is shared, and you will be welcome to use the shared spaces like kitchen and lounge.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our location is great for hiking. We live in a beautiful valley with lots of historical buildings and old roads to explore.In the summer time, the best thing to do is go to the beautiful river beaches nearby. We'll be happy to take you with us, and we can also lend you a bike. They are nice places for social interaction! There is a bus line passing nearby, with limited service though, to get to Mondariz, Ponteareas, Vigo, etc.. We are about 45 minutes drive from the coast, with beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Ocean. There are also thermal baths in the area. In the summer time, there's a lot of cultural events in the area, such as music and arts festivals.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 384829652221