Permaculture, seed saving, beekeeping, wholesome living on the banks of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

Country

Sudáfrica

342 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    08/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    81.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 15 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family living in a beautiful valley in the Garden Route, on the banks of the Bitou River, 25km from Plettenberg Bay. We live on a small game reserve, interacting with giraffe, water buck, impala, zebra, bush buck and wildebeest and a wide variety of birdlife and indigenous eco-systems.

    Living off the grid, we practice permaculture, seed saving and beekeeping, to name a few of our diverse activities.
    We have a small scale and diverse system. We have 24 active bee hives.

    We have a deep appreciation and respect for nature. We live with open hearts, a love for playing of music, singing of songs, gathering together in circle and around fire. Creating with our hands and hearts.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Permaculture, seed saving, beekeeping, simple wholesome living.
    Appreciation and enjoyment of the beautiful natural surroundings of where we live.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Activities are diverse and seasonal.

    Gardening activities ranging from collection of resources (collecting manure, mulch, wood etc...),
    compost making, bed preparation, planting out, soil mixes, transplanting of trees in nursery, digging of holes, harvesting of produce and seeds, trellis building etc...

    Honey season is from December to April/May each year. This is a sweetly satisfying time of year! Honey room activities include: uncapping and spinning of honey, cleaning and sterilizing of glass jars, bottling of honey, cutting of comb. Cleaning of all equipment.
    If you are at ease with bees and would like to learn about working with the bees themselves, you can join us on site, where we will guide you as you participate with us in hive management and honey harvesting.

    Harvesting, cleaning and winnowing of seeds.
    Preparation of garden produce. Making of preserves and drying of herbs.
    General house cleaning. Firewood preparation in autumn and winter. Cooking.
    Crafting. Sharing of skills.

    Woodwork - if you are handy with wood, there are always components of bee hives to make as well as hives themselves, and hive stands. There is a caravan needing an interior revamp! And general repairs and a house roof to insulate. A nursery to build.

    If you are handy with computers, we are not! We will always appreciate assistance and enabling our own learning with working on our website, logo and profile, and are in need of learning a GIS landscape design program.

    There are times when we need to go away, and house sitting is needed.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    At this time we have a room within our house to offer.

    We have a caravan that can sleep 2 people if it is available, otherwise your accommodation is in a tent.
    There are 2 double beds within the caravan, or one folds up and a table and benches are in place.

    We welcome you to interact and share in our home and kitchen. This is a vegetarian home. Food will be provided and we will share meals together and take it in turns for meal preparation and cleaning up.

    Our house is small, simple and rustic. We live off grid. Solar system is sufficient for all our needs, but cloudy and rainy weather will limit its use.

    We use a dry compost toilet system.
    At this time we have a gas shower, with plans to create a fire bath and a passive solar hot water system.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are 25 km from the closest town, which is Plettenberg Bay. Approximately 3km of this is gravel road. There are weekly trips to town.

    The road to the reserve is accessible by all vehicles, but the road to our house needs an ordinary bakkie, or vehicle with some height. If you have a small car, you can park at the gate and we will drive you through to our house which is 1km from the gate. If you do not have a car, we can fetch you from Plettenberg Bay, but ask that you cover fuel costs if timing does not coincide with an already arranged trip.

    As we live on a game reserve, walking is restricted on your own.
    We will guide you to areas that you can enjoy freely at any time, and will take you for walks when we can. You will need to be in agreement with this.

    There are many local activities and beautiful places to visit in our local area. If you have your own car you will be free to explore, but otherwise these activities can be enjoyed before and after visiting us.
    There might be a way that we can assist you to go out and about during your stay with us if it can fit into our movements.

    Essentially if you would like to join us, we encourage that your time with us is for the appreciation of being where you are, in the beautiful natural surroundings of where we live.

    We live in harmony with nature.
    Only simple, plant based, biodegradable soaps, body products and toothpaste are allowed. (This includes sun tan lotions, body lotions, shampoos, laundry soaps)
    These are easily available and we can guide you where to purchase them.
    We can also supply what you need if necessary.

    We ask that women make use of washable sanitary pads, sponges or mooncups. These are easily available and wonderful to use. We can guide you where to purchase them.

    Local places and activities:
    In Plettenberg bay itself, there is the ocean, beaches and the lagoon to interact with – swimming, surfing, body boarding, stand up paddle boarding, ocean kayaking, are just some of the water activities available.
    Close by areas have beautiful indigenous forests to walk in or cycle in. The Keurbooms River is magnificent to canoe, with an overnight/weekend hut that can be rented. Midweek market in Plettenberg Bay and a Saturday market in Harkerville to support local food and craft. Various outdoor adventures in the Crags such as abseiling and canyoning and a rope access training centre. Various animal sanctuaries. Approximately 35 km to Wild Spirit Backpackers and 45 km to Nature's Valley.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 384683645789