Family farm looking for help with animals and daughter who has Down's Syndrome. Buckinghamshire, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

574 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 11 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    November 2021 - update:
    We'd love to host someone who has a campervan for a few weeks. Our daughter is having a major operation and we'll need some help with the horses, sheep & walking dogs, but want to keep the house fairly 'quiet' so she can recover. You will be very welcome into our family, eat, shower etc and spend quiet time inside, it just gives us a bit more space and peace. If you are happy to read with our daughter and play a few games, then that would be really helpful. We also have some gardening projects to do if the weather is nice,.

    Hello,

    We live on a small farm with our lovely dog, 2 horses & 20 sheep. We have hosted workaways, students, au pairs and helpers over the last 7 years and have made fantastic friendships. Our children are 15 and 12 years old, and will welcome you into the family and help keep you entertained.

    We appreciate all types of help - playing with our daughter, caring for the horses and looking after their stables, helping clean or cook in the house, taking care of the fields and fencing, helping with the sheep, looking after the garden ... you can tell me which bits you enjoy doing.

    Our youngest daughter (age 12) has Down's Syndrome and lights up the hearts of everyone that knows her. In order for her to enjoy life to the max, we love to have an extra pair of hands to help out. It might be playing with her and helping her to join in games with her friends, or helping in other ways. One of her loves is the animals and she adores riding her pony after school. It takes two people to make this happen! She had cancer when she was 2, which resulted in long lasting brain damage and epilepsy and she is now in a wheelchair.
    It is important that you are happy helping her play and helping us care for her. If you have experience with or a desire to work with children who have additional needs, that would be amazing.

    My husband works for a Spanish company in Oxford and often visits Madrid. We are both liberal and open minded people who are well travelled. I work locally two days a week and spend as much time as possible with the family.

    We live near a small village, with a pub, church, shop, school and playing fields. it can be quiet in our area, but you can take a bus into the city and walk to the local shop/cafe. If you have good experience, you are welcome to ride one of the horses.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are experienced in teaching English and would love to help you improve and pass exams.
    You can learn about ponies, sheep & helping disabled children.
    You can enjoy country life, fresh air, relaxation and walking.
    We travel in the UK regularly and can take you to visit local places.
    Our children enjoy finding out about new places and cultures too.
    You can chose to live as part of our family and join in on our activities or be more private. Our family like to have some private time each day, which is usually after the evening meal.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We welcome you into our home - to help add joy and laughter to our small family and help keep me (mum) sane!

    Playing with the children and helping our daughter who is in a wheelchair play in the garden, with her pony and in the house.
    Helping our daughter with her physiotherapy exercises and learning through play.

    Help with animals - cleaning the horses and stables.
    Riding the horse if you are experienced.
    Walking our lovely dogs.
    Feeding and helping with the sheep.

    There are ongoing projects that we have going on and option of assisting with these if you want to.
    Gardening. Help in the vegetable garden, cutting hedges, weeding. We also want to do some landscaping in an area of the garden to have a wheelchair accessible area.
    Building maintenance - painting windows and doors. Fencing on the farm.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Double room with shared shower room. wifi & TV

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our village is small and quiet, so do not expect to have lots of local entertainment. There is a lovely pub, a church and a school. 4 miles away is the small town of Winslow, which has a market, shops and restaurants. We are 7 miles from the City of Milton Keynes (takes 45 min to cylce to on a track). It is a modern city with lots and lots of shops, a museum, English Colleges, University, a theatre and Xscape (indoor skiing, sky diving and theatre) and parks. Milton Keynes has excellent transport links by bus and train to the rest of the UK.

    We have a bicycle for you to use and encourage our guests to explore the local area whenever possible. There are good bicycle routes nearby.

    We are very flexible with time off and if you want to see the cities - you can visit London (35 min on train), Oxford (40 min on bus). We do not have a spare car. I am happy for volunteers to have consecutive free days to travel further afield.

    My husband and I both enjoy cooking. We have our own lamb and swap meat with other local small holders. We are also happy to cook vegetarian meals and taste your recipes too, but if you like to cook, that is great.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    private spot to park campervan

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours per week,

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 378658499581