Experience life on a family smallholding and enjoy being relaxed and in tune with nature near Shulinab, Guyana

Country

Guyana

19 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 13 dias

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a young family, living in a very area of south Guyana. I am a British and my wife is a Guyanese/Brazialian, and fluent in portraguese as well as english. We have 2 young children, currently 4 and 1. We live on a small ranch that we have started up, with the aim to be self-suffient, providing our own meat, milk cheese, fruit and veg, but we unforchantely are not there yet.
    Our house is at the foot of mountian range, and due to this we get a lot of different wild animals passing through, including macaws, toucans, jaugars/occalots, deer, giant armadillo, giant anteater, and lots and lots of others.
    You definatly need to like animals to stay with us, as we have animals everywhere. There will be opotunities to take part in horseriding, and westen 'cowboy' style cattle herding if desired (not compulsery). We are part of the indigenous village, and the culture is very different, and there is a lot of traditional culture to be a part of and experience. During the year there is local rodeos, and heratige selebrations.
    The accomadations are very basic, you will have to sleep in a hammock under an open sided building. We are looking for help with basic chores as you would expect on a farm, looking after animals/plants, and also around the house, but we are very flexiable. All meals will be shared as a family, but please expect a lot of meat, as veg availiabity is dependant on what we have grown.
    As we are quite isolated (Nearest house 1.5 miles, village 7.5, Town 35) it can be difficult to get around, but there is a bus to the nearest town nearly everyday, and we regularlly travel into the village. There is always plenty to do, so please feel welcome to come and stay with us for as short or as long as you would like! We would love to have you to stay,
    Ben and Karen Little

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We offer a true ranch life, which is very relaxed and in tune with nature. The air is clean and the sky clear. Experence working with aminals hands on, from birth to dinner! Our area is steeped in tradition, with chances to see traditional skills still in use today as used by indegous people for hundreds of years. The natural lanscape is beautiful, with a mix of open savanah and jungle, we are just north of the amazon basin, so there is chances to see a lot of 'amazon' animals. Living on the border of Guyana/brazil we have an infulence of both cultures.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There is so much going on as we are just starting up, any skills are helpful, there will be things you can help with no matter your background, we are always willing to teach! The work could be anything from animal care, garderning, farm prep, construction/carpentry, house work such as cooking, cleaning, washing, or painting, planting, harversting, preserving foodstuff, or pretty much anything else you could expect on a smallholding. Be prepared for a lot of variaty, every day will be different!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our accomadation is very basic. You would sleep in a hammock under a roof. It is warm even at night. We hope to expand and build more housing soon so guests can have a room with a bed if desired. We would like for you to share our meals, which vary depending on what we have, expect lots of meat, farine(local staple made from casava) and beans.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is lots of nature to explore here, including rivers, forest and savanah alll within walking distance. There is usually something happeneing in the village, such as football or volleyball in the afternoons, weekend games with neighbouring villages, or celebrations. The town is about 90 minuites away by bus, which is the regional town, and you can cross strieght into brazil here. Further north there are lodges to visit, or Rorima mountian to climb. There is waterfalls to visit and trails to trek as well.
    We are very relaxed to if you are looking to escape from the hustle and bustle, there will be no pressure or timetable to keep to here, we usualy work as much as we feel like, resting in the miday sun.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 376252655223