Explore nature and help around the house in beautiful Squamish, BC, Canada



143 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

  • Descripción



    We are a very active family of 4 (5 including Taco, our Border Collie), looking for a young (or young at heart) person or couple to help with occasional childcare, light housework, meals, errands or projects around the house. Our little girl Kya is 4 years old, and we have a 2yo boy, Jasper. Our young (energetic) dog Taco is 5 years old. My husband and I are both part time physicians in emergency medicine.

    We are passionate about mountain biking, skiing, hiking, camping, rock climbing, kiteboarding, whitewater paddling etc. We live a 3 minute bike ride from mountain biking and hiking trails, as well as a 10 minute drive from the multiple rivers (white water kayaking, walking, etc.), Howe sound (kiteboarding, paddle boarding) and several crags/climbing areas for rock climbing. We live in a single family dwelling with a nice back yard with a garden, trampoline, hot tub (and cold dip) and a large deck. We have a (rustic) camper van with which we use to explore the local and distant zones for camping adventures.

    My husband and I have spent many summers backpacking/hosteling/home-staying, so we know what it's like to be a traveller in a foreign country. Also, my husband grew up having volunteers and Foreign exchange students in his family home - so we have first hand knowledge of what it is like to share our home with a working volunteer.

    If you are active, we would be happy to take you biking/running/hiking/skiing with us and we have extensive knowledge of the local mountains if you want to venture out on your own :)

    Our town is a 1 hour drive from Vancouver and 45 mins drive to Whistler, and local public transport is available to get you there if you want to explore the big city or the mountain town on your days off (however the bus will take longer). Squamish has been developing more and more each year as a true adventure capital of Canada. We have our own Sea to sky gondola here that can bring you to stunning views of Howe Sound and the surrounding mountains - but is also a great spot to gain elevation for some high yield hikes. The Chief is a local hike that is convenient, short and steep but also excellent value considering it is usually less that two hours but offers wonderful views (and lots of variations if you know where to go). The community in general is about 22,000 people but is growing very quickly. The offerings for restaurants and cafe's has markedly improved in recent years so there are some nice places for you to go enjoy on your days off (or with us and the family sometimes too).

    Workawayers can borrow a bike or can take public transport to get around town. Of course if we are heading out anyways, or have extra time, we'd be happy to give you a lift.

    We often do local weekend trips to other cities in BC. If you wanted to explore some other towns in our area, we'd be happy to drop you off along the way or you can just join in our adventures.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travellers will benefit from getting to live with a family with two part time working parents and will get to participate in many of the outdoor activities that BC is famous for. We are a very active family and try to get outside rain or shine (although this is not always possible every day). We pride ourselves on challenging the 'norm' and even try to even get our children outside with us on as many adventures as possible.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We would ask that our Work Away Guest be responsible mostly for helping care for our kids on the days that we work. The kids are both in daycare or preschool but some days are off, or since the covid pandemic, sometimes they have a minor sickness and cannot attend so need someone available to help on those days. Sometimes we will need you to watch them for 2-5 hours for work days, or we might need a couple hours of childcare for us to spend some time together outside. If we did not have childcare help that we needed, we may ask that you make dinners or kids lunches for the following day. We may also have other local errands that you could help with. We always have odd jobs on the go (building a bouldering wall in the garage, tending to the garden, working on car maintenance) so we may ask you to help with those too if that was of more interest. Child care experience (with toddlers) is a must, and a love of/comfort with dogs would be preferable. When we meet we can sit down to discuss a schedule for the week or two that you are here, and on your time off we will be happy to facilitate you exploring what Squamish and BC has to offer.

    In the evening after dinner (after approx 8 pm), my husband and I would prefer to have some private time just the two of us on the main floor. You will have a bedroom/bathroom/living room downstairs (with couch, computer, lots of books + t.v. with Netflix) that you can enjoy for yourself. Or- if you're here in the summer, it's light till pretty late so you may even want to spend your evening time outside! Whatever you want :) We may occasionally ask if you can be around to listen for the kids when they are sleeping so we can go out for a meal/date/hike together after the kids are asleep - very easy 'work' as the kids should be asleep the whole time.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Only speak English, would be interested in French and Spanish. Our daughter will be starting French Immersion school next year so some practice would be good.

  • Alojamiento


    You will have your own bedroom, bathroom (with shower) and TV room in the basement. The kitchen will be shared. We will aim for one of the three of us (Myself, My husband, or You) to cook a healthy dinner to share each day. Otherwise, our kitchen is your kitchen and you are free to eat and cook whatever you want.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a standard residential internet package and can arrange for a private space for you to work if desired.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a narrow spot beside our house that is very flat if your van is not too tall, otherwise can park on the driveway or side of the road but would be slightly slanted.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 365126624831

Regala Workaway
leer más

Encuentra a tu anfitrión perfecto