A bit of everything...renovation, no dig gardening, DIY, painting and animals, rural Charente Maritime, France

  • Francia
  • 41 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 24 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    **Temporary update 8th - 22nd Apri**
    ****Our two wonderful kids who are fluent in French and English, who we don't usually ask for help with need someone to hangout with for some of the holidays. My husband and I have a lot of work on at the moment and I'd love some help with the kids for a week or so, they don't need looking after so much as someone to hang out with, maybe do some activities with to help make lunch or dinner for all of us some days. Someone to stop them getting bored.
    I basically need a bit more me!!!
    We usually have French students stay in the hols for English language immersion but I didn't take any bookings this hols due to other work. Also the garden at this time of year takes a lot of time so some help in the garden which the kids get stuck into too. *****

    We are a (young) couple in our early 40's with two children (8 & 10 who we don't need any help with) an exceedingly clever collie dog, chickens, ducks and sheep. We moved here from the UK five years ago for a different kind of life; more outside space, more focus on quality of life than the number of electronic devices we own. For our kids to stay kids for longer and get a real childhood and also learn a second language and experience a different culture. It was the best thing we ever did for sure! We love cooking, gardening and especially growing our own veg and having free range animals living good lives for our food, bike riding, enjoying the amazing French countryside where we live. We buy our fresh raw milk from the local dairy farm, as well as butter and yoghurts. We have a house that we are renovating, there always seem to be a roof that needs repairing...c'est normal!
    We have an amazing quality of life, less money and we do all the work here ourselves so it takes forever...we're hoping some company and some extra pairs of hands will help things along and also bring some new experiences for us and our workawayers. We love to randomly cook outside and live life to the full. We like a glass of wine but don't drink to excess.
    We are hoping to meet some lovely people, share a little bit of our life with them and get some stuff done a long the way.
    Our kids are genuinely very well behaved and we don't need any help with them. They're nice to be around and a lot of fun, they can hold a sensible conversation; they are not like other kids...😉

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have lived here for five years now so know the area very well, know lots of cool stuff to do and lots of lovely places to visit. Our children speak very good French, we speak average French. We have a large no dig vegetable garden and grow lots of our own food. We keep ducks and sheep for meat.
    I preserve food and cook most thing from scratch including our bread that is sourdough so you can definitely learn that skill. We cook and eat and wide variety of culinary styles from all over the world and food and family meals around the table are an important part of everyday life. Where we live is very rural but has a great ambiance and everyone who stays here loves it!
    If you have some woodworking skills you can definitely learn some more from my husband who is a joiner and if you need help with English language I'm TEFL trained so can give you some lessons.
    We have a games barn with ping-pong and other games, a pool when the weather is good, a lake 10 minutes away with swimming and fishing.
    We've had a few work-awayers stay here with us over the last year and they have all been so interesting and we've had a great time working alongside them and spending time with them, getting to know them and sharing experiences. Sometimes it's so sad when they leave but we've made great memories with them that we'll certainly never forget! We look forward to meeting more awesome people and making more memories...

  • Ayuda


    We have a large garden including a large no dig vegetable patch, a field, barns and a house that we are renovating. We have ducks, chickens and sheep and we need help with gardening and garden maintenance, looking after the animals, some of the renovations etc if you have the skills. So you can join in with our life doing any or all of these activities depending on your interests and skills.
    **We have various little projects going on and larger ones too.
    *A wall to knock down and clear away and then make good the area...Still a work in progress!!!
    *Posts to bash in for a new stretch of fence to let a piece of our field re-wild without animals.
    *The front of the house needs re-pointing. The windows need sanding and re-finishing.
    *Tree surgery skills would be super handy for a specific task that we need to do.
    *There's an old fence to take down and put up the new one.
    *A well to build from old stones over the existing well opening.
    *A field shelter needs some attention and an extension adding to one side.

    **SPRING 2023 we are doing the barn roof and would love some help with that. **
    Basically we have a long list of stuff that gets shuffled around depending on the time or year or what demands it is done!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am TEFL qualified to teach English as a second language. I would also very much love to improve my French!

  • Alojamiento


    There are two options depending on the time of year, the level of help you can provide/skills etc.
    One is a large double bedroom with king-size bed in our home and second is our small gite that has it's own kitchenette and bathroom with large walk in shower, with the double bed on the mezzanine level. It also has it's own garden area and separate entrance as well as a door into the main house.
    Every stay, like every person is unique so we are happy to discuss food and meals with you on an individual basis and can agree something that works. Meals together are lovely and I'm cooking for a family anyway. But if you are looking for a bit more independence then we have that option or a combination.
    Due to our facilities and the option of staying in our gite there is the option for someone more skilled agree a working/holiday type situation too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is no public transport here so a vehicle is necessary if you want to travel and see the area independently. We have had lots of work-awayers stay without transport and have dropped them into the towns as and when we go there so that they can explore.
    There's so much to do around here if you like the outdoors and the French countryside.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Our internet is 4g at the moment and around 18mb average.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of space for a camper or motorhome and a long extension for electric. Hose easily accessible for water or you can shower in the house as we have a downstairs bathroom. You can empty your loo into the fosse as long as you use green chemical in your toilet.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a collie who is exceptionally well behaved but this is his home and he is free to roam pretty much everywhere outside. Friendly and well behaved dogs are very welcome. They are not however allowed into bedrooms or upstairs.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 359345727269

Comentarios (5)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Small organic farm medicinal plants and aromatic in Aude, France
Experience the French Alps and practice languages in Boëge, France