Help our family to renovate a vintage caravan and experience adventures in NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

155 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    20  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/03/2021

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We're a friendly, busy family with 3 energetic, sports loving boys (12,10,9). We've had a little break from Workaway while juggling COVID home schooling.

    We're ready to welcome visitors again and can offer plenty of space away from the crowds.
    As you will be in our family home it'll be important we work out a COVID safe plan for your visit. Due to COVID we'd prefer a longer visit (you may need to self-isolate in one wing of the house when you arrive - plenty of garden and acres so you won't be cooped up.)

    We'd love to hear from someone (or two) who is handy with tools to renovate a vintage caravan so we can use it for some staff accommodation during harvest. The boys started this as a "dengineering project" during lockdown so now it needs finishing!
    You might even like to stay on to live in the van and work for the cherry harvest (paid work) at our Mudgee orchard in late November.

    Our home is on a big (4,500 acre) research farm where Guy works. With a driveway 3km long, it's fairly isolated, though not so far from our small town Narrabri (15km away) so it suits well if you have a car or are happy to join our regular routine.

    Ingrid works from home and also runs our cherry orchard in Mudgee (3hrs away) ... we travel regularly between the two farms.

    December is madly busy for us with cherry harvest, sales and preserving. We open the farm for pick-your-own visitors in season and sometimes have stalls at farmers markets and food events with our fresh or preserved cherries and our BBQ smoking woods.

    Our home has a big beautiful garden, always in need of some love and care. Fantastic views of the Nandewar Ranges.
    Kangaroos, brids, chickens, veggie path and a friendly dog. A tennis court with a stunning view!

    Narrabri is a great place to explore the Australian bush - especially Mt Kaputar National park. It's a major cropping area (cotton and grains). We like to take guests on some local adventures when time allows. We enjoy hiking and camping in the local Mt Kaputar National park and when the river is up canoeing on the Namoi.

    We'll share with you our family meals which you'll find are healthy and varied - we also ask you to cook your favourite meals for us too as food is such an important part of a cultural exchange.

    We believe the cultural exchange of WorkAway is really important for our boys - so we're best suited if you're keen to join in as part of our family.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experience country Australian family life in a friendly, welcoming family.
    Enjoy the countryside and visiting kangaroos, birds and a wonderful view.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There are always things to be done around the house and garden and we can make a plan to suit your skills and interests.

    We're keen to meet helpers who can share their culture with us, help out with gardening, housework and projects. Outside of our busiest times we're pretty flexible about what projects you do - though usually it will involve some gardening!

    We are a busy family. An exchange with us is two-way - if you offer to help and take initiative in simple things that will be very appreciated and we'll do our best to show you a great experience.

    We believe in the Workaway description:
    "remember it takes a lot of thought for someone to invite you into their home, so be prepared to help as much as you can! It is not a hotel or a youth hostel it is an exchange - a few hours help per day in exchange for food and board. Housework i.e. cooking, washing-up, etc should be shared."

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Danish: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    comfortable spare room with queen bed and ensuite. it is at one end of the house and we may need you to self-isolate there first if you have come from a COVID hot-spot.. such unusual times!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Plenty of bush to explore on the farm.
    Mt Kaputar National park and Sawn Rocks are nearby. We have kayaks and a canoe for the dam.
    Narrabri is approx. 6.5 hours drive from either Sydney or Brisbane.
    We can collect you from the train in Narrabri (daily service from Sydney Central around 9:30 am, arriving around 5pm bookings.nswtrainlink.info ) or Narrabri airport (FlyCorporate fly from Sydney and Brisbane if restrictions allow).

    Depending on when you are here we may also take you to the farm in Mudgee with us. This is a beautiful region.
    There is work available during cherry harvest (not workaway)
    In summer the boys will insist you learn to play cricket! and play soccer, footy, tennis, etc

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Loads and loads of big open spaces and wonderful views!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours/day, max 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 334388873588