Help at home and daily life in ultra-rural Alcoutim, Portugal

Country

Portugal

171 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello!

    I'm currently looking for a personal assistant to do housework and some outdoor work.

    I'm looking for someone who would like to come and spend some time (two weeks, a month, maybe longer) with me in Portugal (near Pereiro, Alcoutim), to assist me so that I can live independently.

    You would need to be honest, transparent and communicative, and able to take directions and follow them exactly. You would be willing to do the work that was asked of you, in the way it was asked - you would not be suggesting the work, or changing the work, and you wouldn't be doing anything that was not asked for. The main skill would be your ability to listen and be respectful.

    You would contribute 25 hours a week, so it would normally be 3-4 hours a day, and so that you could have (almost full) days off, there could be days with just, for example, 30 minutes work twice a day, so that the essentials are done.

    The work would be:

    • Housework
    • Assisting me with things I struggle with, eg opening cans
    • Gardening
    • Perhaps some simple maintenance work, if you can
    • There might be an option to do additional hours as paid work, if you have particular skills that are needed here.

    In return you would receive accommodation in your own room with all the essentials you’d need, food of your choice, internet access. We could pick you up from the nearest train station (45km away!) and drop you there at the end of your stay.

    I can offer you mentoring in writing, self-publishing, spiritual practice, confidence building.

    I can also offer a bursary of 30 euros per week, paid at the end of your stay so it would also act as a deposit in case of any damages.

    This is a very quiet, rural place with few people, no shops, cafes, towns etc so you would need to be sure that this sort of environment would suit you. You could enjoy the peace of being in nature in the company of birds and animals, with lots of space to relax, walk, ride a bike etc.

    You would be happy to abide by our house rules of not using mobile phone signals, WiFi or Bluetooth on the property, and not wearing perfumed products during your stay. (If you were to break these rules I would ask you you leave,)

    You would take responsibility for your own mental health. Being in a different setting away from family/friends might bring things up for you. You’d have your own support network, and use that, rather than becoming unwell. We could be supportive to each other but I’m not qualified in mental health support and have my own health issues, so your having your own support available is important.

    You wouldn’t arrive here having made an agreement about these things and then change aspects of it, for example doing less or no work. We would have a contract to make sure that both parties do what was agreed, and if you decided to do something different that was in the contract I may terminate the agreement.

    ------


    I'm a writer, living in a semi-abandoned village in a super quiet area of Portugal (45 mins from the Algarve coast). I'm disabled, hence needing some help.

    This place is very remote, far from shops and towns and everything! It's perfect for someone who wants to stop moving around and just enjoy likes peace and nature. It's quiet, with very few people around, and a wonderful spot for walking, relaxing in the sun, writing and making art. We can lend you a bike if you would like to go and explore.

    If you are an artist or writer this could be a good opportunity. This situation would also suit someone who wants a place for meditation practice, yoga etc. I can offer teaching/mentoring/collaboration in the fields of writing, independent music journalism, independent publishing, political activism, feminist thought, self-development and spirituality (I've been a Buddhist for over 20 years) as an additional exchange for something that you offer.

    You could stay short or long term, and we can work out a trial period to start with.

    If it seems like a good fit, the application procedure would involve you sending your CV or resume, contact details, and three references I could contact, then we would have two calls with you on Zoom or Skype, and finally I would need you to send me a copy of your passport before confirmation of the placement.

    Looking forward to hearing from you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn about life in rural Portugal, in a small community where everyone knows each other.

    I can offer information/mentoring about writing, publishing, creative work, political activism, feminism and spiritual growth.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Skills needed:
    Cleaning
    Gardening
    Landscaping
    Fencing



    You would need to be aware that I am allergic to chemicals so you might have to do some jobs in a different way than you have done them before. For internet we can provide a cable connection, but mobile phones are not allowed to be used in the property.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would like to improve my beginner's Portuguese. I can offer help with learning or improving English.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You would have a nice room to yourself in a traditional Portuguese house with a bamboo ceiling to look up at when you're in bed.

    You will make your own food - we will buy/order everything you need according to your diet and preferences.

    I ask that you do not use perfumes or spray deodorant due to allergies (I would be allergic to you!!)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are flexible about hours and time off, as long as we can make a plan for each day.

    We can pick you up from Vila Real de Santo Antonio or Castro Marim train station.

    There are many prehistoric sites in the area (and possibly more not yet uncovered!)

    From Alcoutim you can take the bus-boat to Spain and visit the village on the other side of the river, and see the castles on both sides.

    In Mertola has a castle, Roman city, old mosque, and great views of the Guadiana river in a deep gorge. Apparently there are also dragons.

    We hope to see you soon!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I can offer ethernet connection (wired connection) to the internet. I am electrosensitive and don't use wifi or mobile phones, and you would not be able to use these inside the property. I can explain it more when we speak.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can discuss this with you.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We would need to look at this on an individual basis.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours per week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 324753928474