Help in the house and on the land, at our off-grid home in the Snowdonia foothills near Machynlleth, Wales

Country

Gran Bretaña

603 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    1303

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 37 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi!
    We are Meg, Benjamin, Awen (3) and Tirion (0) and we live with a group of people on a smallholding (Sam, Lex, Robin, Tom, Steve).
    We are off-grid and produce all our electricity by a small Hydro turbine, and some solar as back-up.
    We have 5 acres of neglected organic garden, field and woodland, which are quite wild at the moment. We are slowly getting the gardens and the polytunnel productive again.
    We have 2 kids, 3 years, and 9 months old, so we always have our hands full. If you love kids it will help!
    We will try and keep the work varied and interesting, and there is always time for music and relaxing, as well as making the most of the local area, which is very beautiful and varied.
    If this is you, please get in touch!
    Meg

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are only learning ourselves! With us you can learn about a micro-hydro electric system and how we make a small amount of electricity work for 8 people.
    You can learn about building with straw bales, with us while we create a home space on our land, and about a super efficient rocket mass heating system.
    If you are interested in music there is always the possibility of a jam and Benjamin has taught different instruments and music theory so can help you if you like.
    We are vegetarians or vegan here and shared meals are vegan so that everyone can eat.
    If you are interested in learning vegan cooking we are not expert chefs but are used to cooking delicious, nourishing food for lots of people! We are very happy to share this with you.
    The main language spoken here is English but there is some Welsh too and if you would like help with either we can do that!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our focus outdoors is preparing the garden for next years veg and fruit. It has been badly neglected so there's lots to do!
    We are also keen and excited to build a biogas digester so we can cook and heat water from waste food and manure.
    Cooking and childcare are always welcomed to mix things up!
    Otherwise maintenance tasks around the smallholding and bits and pieces of animal care at times are useful. We have some rescued goats, guinea pigs and cats.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Welsh: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a room in the house which you can use, or if you prefer you can stay in a caravan and have your own space.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You will benefit from staying in a vibrant part of rural Wales, near the Centre for Alternative Technology. This is a truly beautiful part of the world, with rivers, mountains, forests, bogs, lakes and the sea nearby. (check out the Dyfi Biosphere and you'll see what I mean.)
    We will appreciate having you around, and bringing different energy to the place.
    You will be able to learn about an alternative way of life, woodland management, animal care, and renewable energy.
    We want our volunteers to feel free to spend plenty of time enjoying the area, and that should tie in well with us spending time as a family so you are welcome to join us for adventures or do your own thing, depending how we are all feeling!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 25 hours a week







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 323583448381