Dog walking, DIY and charity help in Dublin, Ireland




57 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

  • Descripción


    I am a volunteer with a dog rescue and I foster greyhounds in my home in Dublin. Some of the dogs are with me on a temporary basis while we find them a forever home and some of the oldies are here for an easy comfortable last few years. At the moment I have 5 dogs, 2 are mine and 3 foster dogs. The dogs are tall and lanky (see photos!) but easy going, love attention and cuddles and need to be walked once a day WHATEVER the weather. There is also helping me with the feeding and cleaning up, brushing them and just hanging out and keeping them company. Be warned we get up early ;-) It's 6.30 starts so you need to like mornings. It would also help if you like naps as they dogs go right back to bed again at 7 and sleep till they are walked. Looking after dogs means picking up poop and all the other mess that goes with animals so you need to comfortable with every aspect of animal care.

    I will be doing charity fundraising for example online jumble sales to raise money for animal welfare. If that is something you are interested I would love help with the online tasks (taking photos, listing the items, answering queries and doing the post) so people with computer and social media skills are very welcome. You can also help the charity with fundraising at its headquarters in Clare in the West of Ireland from March 2021, if you would like a split urban:rural stay in Ireland.

    Depending on lock down restrictions, I will also do vegan cake sales and car boot sales to help raise money at the local markets so if you like baking you can help and if you are outgoing with good English you can help at the stalls.

    It's a small room in a small house. The house is cosy and clean but a little chaotic. I am slowly decluttering and getting the house organised. It's a slow process so if you like everything very neat and tidy this might not be the placement for you. However, if you like filing, administration and gradually helping people get organised I would love the help.

    We are close to Dublin city, not far from the beach and mountains and 15 minutes drive from the airport. So it's very central. It's also a very busy housing estate with a lot of noise and litter.

    I have lived and worked all over Europe and love people coming to Ireland and learning more about us. As well as my volunteer work I am involved in the local community and university life in Dublin City University. I have a chronic MS like illness so some days I will be up and about and busy, other days I will need to stay in bed working on the computer or just resting. I have a lot of hospital appointments so there will be days you are on your own in the house.

    Part of your help will keeping the house clean and helping me prepare meals. So you need to be happy to do all kinds of tasks. We have a rota to help keep track of the work and your hours so there is still plenty of time for you to do your own thing. But you need to be used to cooking and cleaning and being responsible for housework.

    I used to be an English Language teacher and I will make an effort to help you to improve your English in a structured way if you wish.

    I have a single placement and am looking for someone who is 35 years old at least. I would welcome people studying English (or other subjects) or who are hoping to stay longer in Dublin once COVID restrictions are over. I am happy to help you get set up and start job hunting.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I live close to Dublin airport and Dublin City University, 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre. The house is on a regular bus route and within 40 minutes drive of the coast or the Dublin mountains. It's a built up, working class area so you get a good idea of how ordinary people live in Dublin. The area does have anti-social behaviour and can seem run down in parts. So it's not your typical tourist experience! However we also have lovely parks, good sporting facilities and historical areas close by. You have a great opportunity to explore Dublin, learn a bit more about Irish food and culture and take advantage of the location for English classes or exchanges. I used to be an English Language teacher and I will make an effort to help you to improve your English if you wish.

  • Ayuda


    I welcome your help with dog walking, animal care, gardening, light housework, DIY and maintenance and some decluttering projects. I have 5 large dogs so you'd need to be very good with animals.

    The house needs to be cleaned regularly so dusting, hoovering, cleaning the bathrooms, steam cleaning the floors and wiping down walls and surfaces. There is also washing up and other light housework each day. Please note that cleaning up after yourself doesn't count as Workaway hours. If you make a mess in the kitchen cooking you need to clean it up and do the dishes. Equally you are expected to tidy the bathroom after you use it and make sure it is clean for the next person.

    I will be doing charity fundraising for example online jumble sales to raise money for animal welfare. I would love some help with the online work (taking photos, listing the items, answering queries and doing the post) so people with computer and social media skills are very welcome. I will also do vegan cake sales to help raise money at the local markets and need someone outgoing with good English to assist.

    It can be physical so best if you are happy to get your hands dirty and are fit. A lot of it is outdoors so best to be able to walk and help out in all weathers especially the rain. This is Ireland after all! I'd prefer someone who can drive. If you have painting or carpentry skills even better.

    I would like someone to help 25 hours a week, 5 days. The days may be on the weekend at times. But I can be flexible and try to work around school hours or other work you may have. Bring warm clothes. Please bring outdoor and warm, waterproof clothes and boots. Ignore what the average temperatures are for Dublin. The weather is very changeable here and the wind makes it much colder than you think. It can also be very wet and you will be working dogs in all sorts of weather so please pack wisely.

    You need to have a EU nationality or be a non EU national with a valid work or student visa. I am looking for someone quiet, older and sensible to fit in with my routine and household. The ideal person will be someone who is happy with their own company and can do their own thing. Better if you are used to living in urban environments and be an experienced enough traveller to stay safe and blend in.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    German: Principiante
    Greek: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    The house is a modern 3 bed mid terrace house in a housing estate about 4 km from the city centre. My estate is in a very built up part of Dublin and my area is quite run down in parts. We have our share of anti social behaviour and it certainly isn't like any part of Dublin you have seen on postcards! The estate can be noisy and chaotic with a lot of litter.
    And the occasional mouse! Since COVID we have had problems with mice in the estate. We have also acquired an early morning fox so expect a lot of wildlife even though we are so urban.

    You will have your own small bedroom with use of a shared bathroom and shower. I am happy to cook dinner 2-3 nights a week and will keep the fridge and cupboards stocked with basics. But anything specialist you will need to buy for yourself. Or if you would rather organise your own shopping we can reduce the work hours to make up for it.
    You are welcome to use the well equipped kitchen. I'm a vegan but don't mind if you eat meat etc as I feed my dogs raw meat and fish and there is a separate fridge and freezer for animal products.

    You need to be very clean and tidy while being okay with dogs sharing the living room area. Its a non smoking household and I live a quiet life. I will be friendly and helpful but I'm not looking for company or long chats over dinner. You will need to make your own fun and get out and about to see Dublin for yourself. If you are looking for dinner parties, socialising at home, late nights and loud music this isn't the Workaway for you. I am a quiet self contained person. Please note that I am providing you with accommodation not your friends.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I like people who like to get out, explore, do things and enjoy themselves. It will be up to you to make the most of your time in Dublin, I can make suggestions, advise or drop you places but you have to get out and about and see and do things yourself. I live on a regular bus route 20 minutes from Dublin city centre. There are sporting facilities and green areas within walking distance. There is a car parking space at my house and having a car really is the best way to make the most of your stay. I have good community connections so can help you get involved in voluntary and cultural activities.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    It's a small room but there is a desk and workspace. I have high speed broadband and a land line with free local and European calls that you are welcome to use. I have a printer, shredder and office equipment as I also work from home. I have a white board, flipchart and a filing cabinet you can use to keep your work materials. It's a quiet household and once the dogs are walked and fed you can get your own work done.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Large calm dogs as long as they get on with my dogs. No other pets.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Minimum 4 hours a day, 6 days a week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 291874594579