Help out with my garden and some renovation/maintenance in the Dordogne valley, France

Country

Francia

21 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/08/2020

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am an English, semi retired female teacher/artist living just outside a small market town,in the Dordogne river valley (good for cycling), along the main Bergerac (just a a 15 mins drive) to Sarlat route (Lascaux caves etc), .
    In addition, the picturesque market town of Lalinde is a short drive away and there is a plethora of ancient walled 'bastides', chateaux & gardens to explore nearby.

    I have a partially restored old stone house, which needs ongoing maintenance with a garden of just under half an acre, which needs regular strimming etc. The house (though it's on this main route), is just a 2 minute walk from the Dordogne river - in a quiet and tranquil area, much frequented by local fishermen (plentiful lampreys, I believe) and birdwatchers. Some lovely scenic villages & countryside nearby this little hamlet, yet only 15 mins from the great amenities, architecture art & culture of Bergerac, and from there, a 14 euro train ride to Bordeaux.

    I have lovely helpful French and a few English neighbours, close by and there is a local artisan patissiere a 3 min walk from the house and a great broccante, as well as a few good restaurants and golf at the Chateau des Merles. I have just started to live here full time and I have plans for the place to work through, finances and my health permitting.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I am working (of necessity), to improve my health & fitness, but I do need regular help (perhaps 6 times a year for one or two weeks), to keep the garden under control and for some basic maintenance, say old wallpaper/paint stripping, sanding, etc. The house is covered with old 'crepie', the lower part of which, I would eventually, like to totally remove and repoint the walls with traditional lime plaster, (so it would be excellent to find people with a good degree of expertise in that area), that I could work alongside.

    I need honest & trustworthy, fit able bodied, up beat, people with a positive 'can do', pleasant attitude. I would prefer non smokers and no over enthusiastic imbibers of alcohol. Zero tolerance where drugs are concerned.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accomodation would be in a large double, twin-bedded room in my house, on comfortable new beds, with access to a toilet on the same floor and a shared ground floor bathroom, with good shower.

    There is plenty of space/shelter to safely store bikes & fishing equpment etc. Also, it would be possible to park in the garden.

    I am a fairly good cook , love fish & cheeses and will be happy to cater for meat eaters & vegetarians. I don't have a TV (and I don't expect to get one in the near future)...I have a good broadband connection and access all the TV I need through my laptop. I have plenty of books available to read in my upstairs office/ library.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I would be happy to drop people off from time to time in Bergerac or Lalinde. This would mean an approx 25 euro taxi ride back to the house.....
    Plenty of trains to Bordeaux (art, museums, shopping etc), Sarlat etc., from the station in Bergerac, as well as some very cheap (heavily subsidised), trans perigordian buses, at rock bottom prices, that enable one to explore such towns as Perigueux, etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 286665627947