Looking for dedicated farm volunteers/apprentices for regenerative family farm in the Lofoten area, Norway

Country

Noruega

120 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    930

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Regenerative farm producing pastured beef and eggs, with strong focus on soil health. We are inspired by the work of Joel Salatin, Allan Savory and Greg Judy amongst others.

    Looking to develop our property further with a market garden operation and pastured pigs, in addition to the restoration of two farm homes that can become full-fledged homesteads. Work on community building is a part of our holistic context, and in our neighborhood there are plenty of opportunities for the resourceful budding farmer.

    Our farm is in Lødingen Vestbygd, a rural area in Northern Norway with about 300 inhabitants. Our farm is about 100 acres total, with a 1/4th of that cultivated for grazing.

    To work with us you must have a strong interest in farming, and an understanding of what work on a farm means. We will only consider stays of a certain duration - short stays of some few weeks are not interesting. Level of experience, age and such are not important, given the right fundamental attitude. A dependency on the internet or the related gizmos is a very bad trait to bring here.

    From us you can learn a lot about rigging your life for an alternative lifestyle outside of the rat race, how to make decisions and learn from real trial and error. As we are still in our early days farming, the learning opportunity here lies more in learning with us, than from us, though we can lead the way in various practical farm work.

    We are Elisabeth and Andreas, and three children - a foster child (14), our son (2) and a newborn baby.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Northern Norway provides a pretty unique framework, not only with spectacular nature, but an open and welcoming population. With us you'll be part of our lifestyle, but also have the choice to get to know the local community and get involved. We personally enjoy literature, music, chess, good food and drink, and pretty much anything else that's interesting.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    What we need help with depends on the season. There is animal moving, fencing, maintenance, forest help, housekeeping and many other things - life on a farm isn't always easy to predict. We appreciate clear thinkers and communicators, good cooks and practical skills. A driver's license is a must, and so is a strong command of English or a Scandinavian language. Please indicate specifically in your request whether you fulfil these criteria.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Your own room in a separate house from ours. There is no wifi available in the house of lodging, and we don't care much for people hanging about our house just to be online/lost in a screen. If this is a priority for you, this is not the right place. However, there is internet access available for all necessary purposes.

    We provide linen and other common amenities. We expect tidy and organized people with good social intuition - having lived with others before may be useful.

    Foodwise we are adventurous omnivores. We can not accomodate any alternative diet to our own - in order to stay with us you can't be picky or have special requirements of any sort. We share some meals, though volunteers will mostly cook for themselves/participate in batch cooking.

    Please take special care to show that you have understood this point before initiating a stay with us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your time off you may enjoy nature that is just outside your door, participate in social events or various activities in the community or perhaps borrow a book from our library that does contain some interesting titles. Please be proactive in this department, and don't expect to be entertained - we will include you as much as we can, but also have more than enough with managing the farm, family and business.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 277888894226