Family in a small fishing village welcoming someone to join them in County Cork, Ireland



117 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Good Host
  • Descripción


    We are a family of 5, Karen, Peter and our 3 boys, James is 9, Edward 8 and Henry 5.
    We live in a small fishing village called Ballycotton. It is in East Cork on the south coast of Ireland.

    I (Karen) run my own business part time so don't have set hours. I work as needed. Peter works full time for the RNLI as mechanic on the Ballycotton Lifeboat. James is in his fifth year of primary school, it is called 3rd class and in the summer loves to kayak, to jump into the pier and go swimming. In winter he likes to read, play the xbox, cycle and play football or hurling. Edward is in 2nd class, just 1 year under James, he is such a fun character, he also loves to kayak, play xbox and spend time with his friends. Henry is the baby of the family and rules the house but in a fun way, he loves playing with his toys, playdoh and playing with whoever has the time to play with him. He loves fiercely but can be just as boisterous. He is in junior infants in the same school as his brothers.

    We like to get outdoors and go on adventures, there is a lovely cliff walk here in Ballycotton and the village has lots of lovely walks. Peter is on call 24/7 with his job so when he is off we usually get out of the village and visit tourist spots around the county and surrounding counties. We like to meet up with friends at the weekend especially if Peter is on call and cannot leave the village.

    We are looking for someone to join our family from 26 July - 12 August this year, we have only ever had female workawayers. Edward especially would love if a boy could come and stay with us this year.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We like to cook and bake and would be delighted to share this with our workawayer. We like to spend time with our workawayer and would be delighted to teach them about Ballycotton, Cork and Ireland. We like to chat and share our lives and would like to hear about out workawayer, where they are from, what they like to do and what their plans are for their lives. We would be delighted to help them improve their english.

  • Ayuda


    We would like someone to come and be part of our family, we really enjoy the workaway experience and make sure not to have too many in a year as we want to ensure that we continue to enjoy it and make sure that every workawayer gets the best experience from us as well. We would like someone to come and help clean and tidy around the house. It would be great if after a few days you could see what needs doing, especially picking up as you go. This is something we all try and do. And something we are trying to get the boys to do more consistently. We would also like if you could cook dinner 1 or 2 times a week. We would like to do a spring clean so there would probably be a cleaning or tidying task per day to get us finished. Regarding childcare, there won't be too much of this, you might have to walk to collect the boys from school or if it is the summer you might have to mind them while Karen has some work. Ideally we would like to get out for a walk or to the cinema once a fortnight without the boys so if it suits the workawayer we would try and fit this in. In general the boys are great fun and would love to share this fun with someone new in our family.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    A bright, spacious, double bedroom. Shared bathroom with a power shower and separate bath.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Ballycotton is a very pretty picturesque village. There is a lovely cliff walk, 1 hotel and 4 pubs. I have a bike that you can borrow and there is lovely sandy beaches around. The nearest big town Midleton is 18 kms away and Cork city is 35 kms. There are daily buses and I usually go to Midleton 2 times a week.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 268236547856