Real farming experience on Millstone sheep and beef farm, Pahiatua


Nueva Zelanda

322 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
Contacto Registro

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    I James was brought up on the family farm in the area and worked as a mechanical Engineer for before traveling and working abroad extensively for about 5 years. Upon returning to NZ, I decided to return to farming to enjoy the outdoors and hands on work. Purchased Millstone Farm 10 years ago and have two kids, Elsa and Maxime who spend time with me on the farm and in town with their mum (my ex wife)
    There are four working farm dogs, and one who is retired who casually keeps an eye on what everyone is up to.
    Also a pet fantail (small native bird) who is always trying to get inside the house.

    320Ha sheep and beef farm. I winter around 1400 sheep and 350 cattle and this year will be rearing 400 calves. Day to day work depending on the time of year includes feeding the calves milk and meal in the morning as well as feeding, sorting and moving stock which also need health treatments from time to time. The afternoon usually leaves time for projects or extra jobs that need doing. You name it, there's always something to do! I love to see how the farm is developed, a lot with the help of some big red tractors!

    Helpers stay in the large character home with their own bedrooms and shared bathroom facilities. I am a meat eater but don't need to eat meat all the time and enjoy sharing cooking with others and experiencing their favorite dishes, I am happy to accommodate for veggos if need be.

    There is always something to get involved with on the farm. From stock work; sorting, drenching and vaccinating animals to building maintenance, fencing, erosion control planting trees to pulling or cutting undesirable weeds and just good old tidying up.

    I have spent a fair bit of time in Europe, Central Asia, The Middle East and South America as well. I love to talk about my experiences abroad and may even get the photo album out for a bit of show and tell!
    I am into anything with an engine and wheels and have a few motorbikes.

    Millstone is a 10 minute drive off SH2 at Pahiatua and easy to find if you have your own transport. With enough notice, I can usually arrange for pick ups from buses which stop in local towns.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The kids and I love to meet people from different countries and cultures and share our own multicultural family background with them.

  • Ayuda


    I try to find jobs that will suit your skills. Day to day tasks will include helping to feed the calves, working with stock (sorting up, weighing, drenching, shearing or docking depending on the time of year), general maintenance of buildings/ fences/ gates etc.
    It's also much appreciated if you are willing to help with cooking and contribute to keeping the house clean and tidy.

    As you can tell this is a genuine working farm if you are not interested in farming or don't enjoy hard work you might be better suited to a smaller lifestyle block of which there are many to help on in NZ. If you are genuinely interested in animals and real life farming Millstone offers a great chance to experience all aspects of this.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados


  • Alojamiento


    It's a big old house so our helpers can stay in their own room in the house. The bathroom facilities are shared. The house is old but open plan so nice and sociable.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are a number of bush walks in the area or just walking on the farm can be as enjoyable, the Tui Brewery which is interesting if you like beer or good food. Beaches are about 1.5 hrs away. Mount Bruce is a short drive down SH2 where you can see the famous white kiwi bird!
    The views around the farm are as beautiful as any I've seen around the world.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 264871614945