Help with our permaculture homestead project on 20 acres of beautiful countryside in Haloze, Slovenia.

Country

Eslovenia

78 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a native english and slovenian speaking family (irish/slovenian/londoner) who recently moved from London for a new way of life closer to nature. We are not born farmers, we have a background in performing and media arts but we are learning fast. We are restoring a traditional stone farmhouse and working with the land according to permaculture principles. We have 18 acres (7 hectares) of land which is a mix of meadows, woodlands and soon to be herb and vegetable gardens. We live on the land in tents in the summer months, cook on an open fire, shower using water heated by the sun and use compost toilets. We have electricity, a water supply and some limited Wifi connection. We are low on infrastructure at the moment and that's where we need help!

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn with us about permaculture, gardening, natural building, herbal remedies, improve your english or slovenian, play music, sing. Learn (and help us!) to identify wildflowers, trees, insects, animals.

    Learn about growing and looking after trees and orchards and the importance of preserving natural ecosystems and wilderness.

    We aim to combine our arts practice with our farming/nature project and hope to be running some art/technology/permaculture inspired workshops this year which you could possibly participate in, if interested, or help organise. These will be developing computer/coding skills with nature as inspiration.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Firstly, we would like you to create/improve your own accommodation arrangements! We have some tents and some nice secluded areas where you could create a private living/camping zone away from the main farmhouse (which is likely to be something of a building site for a while). This might involve clearing some land, levelling the ground creating nice flat areas for tents. If you are skilled at building/carpentry/natural building this would be useful (for example we have a stone barn that needs repointing and some rebuilding) but equally there are lots of things to do where no previous skill is required including: clearing pathways through the woodland, cutting grass, strimming, preparing land for growing, digging holes to plant trees, building raised beds, cooking communal meals.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English, Slovenian, German.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Camping.

    (update: It going to be getting cold soon and will have to take down our tents... so we will only be able to take workawayers with their own warm camper vans etc.)

    We have a very nice 4.5 meter canvas bell tent which is nice but you will need to level some ground for it. We also have some smaller tents if you don't mind a more basic sleeping area. We would like our first visitors to make nice sites for these tents.

    We often cook on the open fire and make a big pot of something to share, baked potatoes on the fire or some roast vegetables in our traditional Serbian "pod sačem". We are "flexatarians" we mostly eat meat-free diet but from time to time we lapse... we are happy to eat vegan etc. if that's what you like to cook (we know its the right thing to do!) . If we are cooking you can certainly join us, then you can cook another night...

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you like hillwalking we are on the path to the famous local mountain Donacka Gora. The locals love to forage and collect mushrooms in the woods around us, we are amateurs but learning. We travel to the local small city of Maribor (45min drive) a couple of times a week. There are not much options for nightlife apart from listening to the owls. The skys are often clear and we like to learn the constellations when we are not blinded by staring into the campfire.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 261348156138