Cultural exchange with a cork artisan in Andalucia, Spain



400 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Super Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Hello everybody , my name is Alejandro , one of my principal activities at the moment is working with cork , but i love to do plenty of different arts and expressions. Music is one of my other passions ,Love singing my own songs , playing african percussion , selecting music as a dj , . Although i don't considere myself a musician , i am creative and my revolution comes from my hands and soul. Also like organizing and directing spectacles , shortfilms and writing stories.
    I live in a big house in wich friends and I created a cultural asociation with plenty to do apart from cork. We are developing workshops , events and all kind of cultural meetings . Also the vegetable garden its something to work on mostly every day , organizing spaces and cleaning is a day by day work to keep the house ready for future activities.
    In my cork activity i am making decoration elements , yoga complements and also a line of cork products for the moment i want to develop a new line of toys and little things using all the rests that come out after cutting bigger pieces so i need creative people with art skills that can aport ideas. With time i would love to develop Bioconstruccion and agriculture elements using cork.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cork is an unique material that comes from the Quercus Suber tree , tipical from the meditarraneran forest.With big properties cork has been used along history. Is a sustnaible and ecological activitie that helps regeneration of meditarrenean forests. There is many to learn about this material. biocinstruccion , agriculture are some ideas ideas and uses i want to develope, so i am opened to any ideas and experimentations....
    After some day work we probably can make a good jam or a tour to some place around,...Cabo de Gata, Granada for example

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Its an easy thing and they are many diferent steps in the process to do , so depends the habilities we can organice. I use basic hand electric machines , and plenty of sand paper to finisg the pieces manually , so there is always plenty to polish. Basically there is plenty of work polishing with sandpaper . Also cuting and cleaning cork placs.
    I also started a vegetable garden and my knowledge is not so big so it would be interesting to learn about it. There are also plenty of fruit tress , and i will need to start making marmalades and find different ways to conserve fruit and vegetables. As i said is a big house and we need a good plan of cleaning.
    I also have 2 marvelous kids that come around some weekends and i would love that they learn languages or anything they can be interested at. Normally when my kids are around my time is 100% with them although they love doing most of the things i work with and they are great helpers in my day.
    Also a few dogs around.
    I must say that i had great experiences with workaways but i also had some not so good so this made me change some requires in what i expected. Principal i want people with initiative , that i don't have to push continuously to do things, that they have open eyes to see what must be done. Its a big place and always its plenty of different things to do.
    Its also important for me to feel that gests are autonomy people and they have other options in live and don't stay here eternaly , cause i am not a person that kick people away even if things don't flow. If there is a good connection you will be always welcome here in the future but its important also for me to renovate the energy . I also want to learn a lot of people.
    I prefer healthy people , in balance because i come from difficult years and i am starting an inner process of balance in my live, cleaning myself and taking care of my energy .We all have problems but i am not in a moment to be a parent of nobody.
    Also want artistic people to develop art works and common projects.
    Another require i decided to start after a few experience , although is not something i like much ,is giving a test week to see if everything works correctly with the person , if thing does not flow i am sorry but you must find some other place to go , so its important as i said before that you are autosuficient and you have another options. I hope you understand this.
    An example of a normal day in the house would be to wake up around 8 and after breakfast, we expect you to start with some cleaning activities that would take an hour. Three more hours that could be used for cork or other requires of the house like building activities, gardening, maintenance of the house and some other stuff .Due to a special electricity timetable we expect you to work an hour in the evening between 7 and 9.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    There is a free room in the house with 2 beds to share, one of them can be double size, between workaways , if you love open space there is a big garden and if you wish you can always sleep under the stars.
    We provide the breakfast and a main food share with us, you can use our kitchen to cook here and some days we will have the dinner together too. If you are used to eat between hours you should provide your own snacks. We also have some special diets requirement so we keep those products in a separated place. In your days off you should provide yourself with your own stuff to eat.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    One of the good things where i live is that we are at 1 hour aprox of the principal cities , Malaga , Almeria y Granada. I am in the door of the Alpujarras of Almeria , and there is a nice tour coming up to Granada through Orgiva. Also a fabolous place to visit is Cabo de Gata.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, that can be flexible depending of the work requirement.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 257218246146