Immerse in the local culture and help at my place in Guatape, Colombia



1461 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

  • Descripción


    I run a small mainly vegetarian cafe-restaurant in Guatape. I opened in August 2014 and before the outbreak of Covid, it was really taking off.

    Unfortunately, since 2020 tourism in Guatapé (as in most places) has plummeted, so I am working in my restaurant with very limited help.

    I have three fairly large dogs and because of work constraints am not able to spend as much time with them as I would like. Therefore I am looking for someone to help me looking after my dogs and house with a bit of gardening too.

    I live in the countryside in Guatapé. It's quiet and peaceful and close to the mountains.

    Ideally I would like to find a Workawayer who has experience of training dogs, as my youngest one especially could be more obedient!

    The help I need isn't too hard or strenous and there will be plenty of time for you to enjoy the stunning countryside, lakes, waterfalls, mountain air, etc here in glorious Guatape.

    I really need someone who can stay around a month (or longer, if you wish!) as I don't want to be explaining the routine to new people every week.

    I am pretty fluent in Spanish, and most of my friends are locals so there is plenty of opportunity to learn/improve your Spanish. In addition to sharing my nice rustic house in the countryside, you will also be well fed as I am a very good cook!

    I really cannot take smokers. I am allergic to smoke.

    Thank you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    There will be plenty of opportunity to practice Spanish as many of my customers and friends are Colombian and speak little or no English.

    There is also a Spanish teacher nearby, for those who want to learn/improve their Spanish - which is something the volunteers would need to pay for.

    Most of my friends are Colombians, so you will be able to find out a lot about the country, its culture and the language.

    There are more opportunities to interact with local people, and to be immersed in local culture with me than in many hostels, where volunteers are only spending time with English-speaking people.

  • Ayuda


    My clientele is varied - mostly Colombians, but lots of visitors from all over the world too. My menus and signs are in both English and Spanish. It is essential that my volunteers can speak either of these languages fluently, and preferably with at least a small amount of the other.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Sharing my house. My volunteer will have their own bedroom and bathroom (with hot shower) plus have use of the rest of the house.

    Sorry but I cannot take any smokers.

    I normally take single volunteers, but occasionally I can accommodate a couple.

    I've recently moved, so am in the process of trying to get internet installed, but at the time of writing, don't have it. However there is free internet in various locations in town.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you like fresh air, the outdoors, nature and wildlife, Guatape is definitely for you. There is an enormous lake, and there are many hikes and walks around in the mountains and by the lake shore, where you will encounter crystal clear rivers, waterfalls, swimming holes and stunning countryside. There are lots of different water sports on offer too and there are several small towns and villages nearby too which are worth a visit. Plus Medellin is only two hours away.

    There is also a Spanish teacher nearby, for those who want to learn/improve their Spanish - which is something you would need to pay for.

    Guatape is about 2 hours from Medelllin, there is a good bus service in the daytime, from the North (Bus) Terminal but it finishes around 6.30 pm. The last part of the journey has many bends and curves, so if you suffer from travel sickness you may like to take a pill before boarding the bus!

    Guatape is full of colour and is a very popular destination with Colombian tourists, and more foreign tourists are discovering this hidden gem nowadays too.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 255395787299