Come and help with gardening while enjoying peace and tranquility in Kapiti Coast, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

132 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/09/2020

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Kia ora!

    I returned to New Zealand in 2016 after living in Europe (UK, Spain, and Switzerland) for 10 years. I have a 2.5 hectare property a couple of kms from the small town of Otaki on the Kapiti Coast. For me, it's a tranquil piece of nature to enjoy a great lifestyle.

    My long term vision is to have a forest garden with permaculture principles in one of the paddocks, with every fruit, nut, and berry tree that I can get my hands on. I've started with a variety of heritage apples, plums, bananas, peaches, pears, feijoas, avocados, and figs, plus various citrus trees - lemons, oranges, grapefruit, limes, and kaffir lime (for Thai cooking). The trees are still young so not producing much fruit yet. And there are many more to add to the mix. Four alpacas graze the grass in the other paddocks.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I've done a lot of hosting when I lived in Europe and always enjoyed meeting people from around the world. I'm a keen mountain hiker and if the weather's good, I could be talked into taking guests on a local hike in the mountains.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The property is a mix of three large flat paddocks and bush. The help sought is mainly keeping the orchard and vegetable garden and bush under control and gathering material for making mulch, compost, and firewood. That means weeding the vegetable and herb garden and under the fruit trees, helping to establishing new garden beds, keeping grass down around pathways, collecting anything that falls out of the bush for making mulch and compost, helping to collect and organise firewood for the winter, or helping to collect alpaca manure for the compost. There's actually no end of tasks to do - it's a little too much for one person.

    Stays of up to 5 days, extendable if it works for both.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Guests have their own room and own bathroom in the main house. All bedding and towels provided. The shower is excellent - clean and good pressure.

    There is Internet but it can be slow, has limited data, and so is not suitable for games. Streaming movies depends on how much of the data cap has already been used.

    Meals: The emphasis is on healthy, wholesome food. The main daily meal invariably involves organic chicken, and may be the same (usually good) dish two or three days in a row. That may be an incentive for the guest to step in and inject some variety. On Saturdays I relax with home-made (very little oil so reasonably healthy) beer-battered fish & chips. There's usually home-made yogurt on offer, although I'm still experimenting with that.

    The house - and in fact the whole property - is non-smoking.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I can collect and drop off visitors at Waikanae and Otaki train stations or the Otaki Intercity bus stop. Visitors can also meet me in Wellington if it's a day that I'm in Wellington and we can take the train back together.

    Good things nearby are the Tararua ranges - great hiking but you must carry appropriate clothing for all weather conditions - and the nearby beach. Wellington is an hour by train from Waikanae and trains run quite frequently. Trains to and from Otaki are less frequent, with just one a day in each direction.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 253459229444