Help with house chores around our family home in Chase, Canada

Country

Canadá

4 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    31/10/2020

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Wykt (greetings), we are a small family that lives out in the forest, under a waterfall, surrounded by a river and 2 lakes (look up Squilax) on reserve. We are ceremonial, cultural people. I am a teacher full time teacher, my husband is a professional musician and takes care of our large garden. He is a secwepemct'sin language speaker and we both have at least intermediate level Spanish. We have a teenage daughter that unfortunately is not home all that often. We all sing (but not all the time). If you come to stay with us, sometimes there are lots of friends (we host ceremony occasionally) here, but mostly you must be able to enjoy your time to yourself in our forest. There is a small bedroom with a comfortable queen sized bed, dresser and work station for you to use, shared bathroom, washer dryer, 4 beautiful black cats and a really, really friendly old black dog. We don't have many neighbors, but if you have a vehicle we are 1-2 hrs. away from 5 major ski resorts, 15 minutes to two beautiful small towns and 45-60 minutes from Salmon Arm and Kamloops respectively. We don't use dairy and little wheat (though there is usually bread around). We eat wild meat (mostly deer). We don't drink and don't allow alcohol on our land and would rather people who are sober from that one during their time with us, though most other medicines are fine if used appropriately. We do have internet but it is satellite so not always consistent. We are pretty happy people, book lovers, who have been building our home ourselves for the last decade (it's almost done!!!). I work pretty long hours and really appreciate the help in the home.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We both carry teachings, stories, songs and ceremony. We are indigenous people who know our histories, understand freedom. I grew up on the border in the southwestern United States and am culturally adapted there as well as in mainstream Canada and an Indiginational. :) That said, we are inviting somebody here because we are pretty busy, while we will certainly spend time with you, you must expect to be on your own with most of your time here. We live at the mouth of the largest sockeye salmon run in the world, in a beautiful forest. The nature has it's own culture if you listen. We both do feather-work, I bead and sew. We also hunt and participate in cultural activities and ceremony.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would like help with keeping our home chores, (cleaning, some cooking, some organizing) and during the spring and summer gardening and if you are interested perhaps helping with building projects. We are open to other kinds of trades as well, maybe some computer rebuilding and organizing, for a shorter stay. Body workers also welcome. Mostly we are looking for someone to take care of most of the house work. There is gardening and building project work in the spring and summer, but mostly it would be keeping the kitchen running, some cooking (1 meal every day or so) and cleaning/organizing. We would prefer longer stays (a few months if it is a good fit), but are open to short stays as well.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Either a small cabin (in the late spring and summer) or a room in our home with a queen sized bed, dresser, workstation and window. The room is painted a dark purple. The bathroom is shared. Laundry is onsite. We stay upstairs and my daughter is in the other ground-level bedroom. Your room is not under our bed.

    We always keep a lot of food in our home. We love it when helpers are great cooks, and would like that to be a major part of the exchange, but we cook too. Food is included in the exchange, however, we don't by meats very often, and never beef. We usually have an abundance of wild meat to choose from as well as a hefty garden and it's gifts. I also preserve a lot of food most years (less this year) and always enjoy help with that. :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is not public transit here, we can help with some rides, but not daily. Local activities include anything lake related, hiking, arts, books. If you have your own vehicle or dirt bike you might like it here better. We are close to world class ski hills and back country access.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have 3 driveways. One feels pretty private even from the house.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 243313775698