Family farm life on the Scottish Isle of Mull, UK


Gran Bretaña

256 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    64.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 25 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Urgent help needed in our kitchen garden on the lovely Isle of Mull, also some help on our hill farm and around the house from time to time. A small shepherd’s hut bathroom conversion project also awaits someone with construction or DIY skills :-)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are so lucky to live where we the heart of a National Scenic Area, and surrounded by real natural beauty on all sides. For anyone with a love of the environment and history there is much to see, explore and learn. We have several ruined crofting villages nearby, and are just across the water from the island of Ulva, famous to anyone with Australian connections. Our farm contains a Site of Special Scientific Interest, which we would be happy to tell you all about. We are a traditional hill-farming family, so there will be ample opportunity to gain knowledge and hands-on experience of our work and way of life. I'm also the island vet so we sometimes have some poorly four-legged overnight guests, which could be interesting for anyone who is keen on animals. We love to make visitors welcome and would like them to leave feeling that they are part of our family.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Our over-ambitious start to kitchen gardening during last year's Lockdown has led to a jungle, so we would love to welcome one or two volunteers with some knowledge and experience of organic kitchen gardening to get us back on track. We are not that experienced ourselves, so would appreciate being able to pretty much hand the project over to folks who know better than we do, and learn from them! We have plenty of the raw ingredients - nice soil, lovely well-rotted farmyard manure and seaweed plus our own sheep fleeces. There is also a polytunnel (currently the only part of the garden which isn't feral!), and we have a stack of old windows we'd love to convert into cold frames.
    An on-going project is construction of a bathroom hut to accompany our shepherd's hut, so any experience of DIY and small-scale construction would be a bonus.
    Depending on the season, there are various tasks we'd be keen to have some help with on the farm, and help around the house from time to time would also be appreciated, such as stacking firewood (nothing heavy), as would be a willingness to muck in and do some cooking and washing up.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We provide a small caravan. There is 4G locally for anyone on the EE phone network, and there is limited internet access in the farmhouse. All groceries are provided. We would ask helpers to make their own breakfast and most of their main meals in their own accommodation, with some week-day main meals shared in the farmhouse kitchen. Through previously hosting volunteers we have found this to be the best way to give everyone some private / family time and to allow for individual eating preferences. We have no great experience in cooking lovely vegetarian or vegan meals, so volunteers with these diets would be best advised to cook for themselves(!) however we would love to learn new recipes :-)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Each of the closest villages, about 9 miles either way, has a pub and shop. Tobermory, 20 miles from here, has a range of pubs and shops, a theatre and an arts centre. There is a swimming pool in Craignure, 20 miles away. Our corner of the island is very quiet(!) so unless helpers have their own transport it would probably best suit someone who likes their own company, loves to snuggle up with a good book, do an art or craft, go walking (and we have plenty of dogs who would like that!), beachcombing etc. There is a community bus which runs on a restricted timetable. We don't smoke and wouldn't expect anyone to smoke in our house or caravan, which I'm sure goes without saying. We use moderate language and rarely drink alcohol, and would prefer the same in our helper, especially as we have children.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 239687236786