Orchard an hour from Wellington, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

178 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    54  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/09/2021

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Update: 31 August 2020:

    It’s spring tomorrow and although COVID-19 is still having a major effect on things, our orchard still provides a refuge for many displaced travellers. Right now, we are pretty full up again, but for Workawayers looking to pass this way later in the year, or early next year, we could offer you a place. The plum trees are blossoming again, so come January we will definitely be looking for plum pickers.

    8 July 2020.

    I am unable to accept any more Workawayers right at the moment, as my house is pretty full. Maybe August will be a bit freer, so don’t hesitate to enquire if you are stuck for a place to stay. I know there are still 100’s of stranded COVID refugees all around the country!


    18 April 2020

    Note: When the COVID-19 Level 4 Lockdown is over, maybe by the last week in April, if there are Workawayers needing a place to stay, I am happy to accommodate up to six people at any one time, especially travellers who have nowhere else to go. I have a house with 4 bedrooms and a spare room, so no shortage of space. Please enquire.

    March 2020: COVID-19 has changed everything.

    We had an exceptional plum harvest this year, and huge thanks to a Jesper & Stine from Denmark, Lenita from Canada and Amelie from Germany for their enthusiasm and help over three weeks in January. We had a ball, both at the orchard, and at the markets. 😀

    There was much orchard maintenance done in February & March. Thanks to the Workawayers who came along to help! Frauke, Oliver, Casey, Joe, Lisa, Ana, Ivar, Elli and Alma, plus returning workers Jesper and Stine. You were all great! Thank you so much.

    The COVID-19 lockdown resulted in six Workawayers staying put on the orchard. Thank you Kiana, Linnea, Aaron, Marie, Andries & Sinead for looking after our place and doing more wwoofing than ever! And then we had Blanche, Bobby & Rachel, and Soph and Luca and Élénore & Manon. Thank you all!

    Happy 2020! It can only get better. Stay safe!

    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    My wife Brenda and I own a 1.2ha (3 acre) orchard situated between Levin and Otaki, about one hour by car north of Wellington, on State Highway 1. There is a house on site, where helpers can stay. Our permanent home is in Wellington.

    Our main crop is plums, which ripen over a three week period in January. This crop is sufficiently large to require 2-3 helpers during this time. We need help with picking, usually from Thursday to Saturday.

    My wife and I are in our 70's, and have over the past 20 years hosted numerous exchange students, travellers and volunteers from all around the world. We particularly love hosting young German helpers, as our younger daughter lives in Hamburg, and is married with two children. Our elder daughter lives near us in Wellington, and is married with three young children.

    At other times of the year, we can use helpers for various activities, including pruning, weeding and orchard maintenance.

    There is no public transport at the orchard itself, but I am able to meet and greet at the Intercity bus stop near to the orchard. If coming from the South Island, I can meet you at the ferry terminal in Wellington.

    We look forward to meeting willing Workawayers.

    Roger and Brenda

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will meet some real "Kiwis". (The people, not the bird or the fruit!) My wife and I have had a lot of experience hosting people from Europe, Asia and the Americas. We can relate to their needs, and also provide a real Kiwi experience that is not available from just backpacking or being a tourist. There are two beaches nearby (Waikawa Beach and Otaki Beach) suitable for swimming and surfing, and beachcombing, during the summer months (December to March.)

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Picking plums (January only), weeding, tree trimming, general orchard maintenance.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    House at the orchard with own bedroom, if required. We also have space for tents, and campervans. Meals provided while volunteering.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are bush walks a short drive away. We have two bicycles available for Workawayers to use, and it’s a flat road to a beach. As I mentioned above, no public transport. There is no wi-fi available at the orchard.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 232624197583