Enjoy the family life on our organic farm in Feilding, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

258 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    17  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    08/01/2021

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Tucked away in a little known part of New Zealand is our farm. What we lack in size, we make up for in character. Rolling hills, the Rangitikei river, perfect for mid-summer dips. Rows of asparagus and a herd of happy cows. Lush green paddocks and plenty of friendly characters, always up for a chat.

    We’re a family farm and we’ve been at this for years (since 1852 in fact). In 2008 we switched the main operations of the farm to dairy, however have maintained our keen organic horticultural interests on the side. Through farmers markets and a faithful roadside farm shop, our family has been sharing the best of our farm with the community. At the moment we are also converting the dairy unit into organic.

    With the diversity of what we do on the farm and our future plans to make it completely sustainable there is no shortage of work to do. Whether it’s tree planting, building, fruit and veg picking, painting, gardening, nursery work or general maintenance there’s always something going on and always people around. In turn we promise delicious seasonal food sourced as much as possible from the farm and locally, and very comfortable 'unconventional' accommodation. We're pretty flexible in terms of working hours - dependent on what's going on - we are happy if you wish to work longer some days to give greater time to explore the region. Absolute maximum we ask is 25 hours a week and like to have people staying for 2 weeks, couples or two friends are preferred at a time (who don't mind top and tailing) but are happy to consider all so please don't hesitate to get in contact.
    Unfortunately we cannot host you if you are under 24. We prefer people who have had some experience of living /staying in the countryside

    Although the Manawatu isn’t your classic New Zealand tourist destination, this in fact gives it its beauty as you get a genuine kiwi experience. We would love to get some help and share our little slice of family paradise and way of life with you and in turn hear about your homes and cultures.
    Look forward to hearing and meeting you all :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Benefits are vast and we could never list them all here. But most significantly having a real kiwi farming experience is something quite special. You can learn about various different practices we partake in on our farm and also enjoy great company, great food and beautiful surroundings.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    As said above we've got many plans and things going on, it is hard to be specific as to what you shall be doing as it is dependent on many things including your preferences and experience. However broadly we will need help in tree planting, building, fruit and veg picking, painting, ecoprojects, gardening, nursery work and general maintenance. The help required isn't too hard and we wouldn't ask you to do anything that we wouldn't happily do ourselves.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A gorgeous old railway wagon, set aside from the house and nestled amongst the backyard. The wagon has it's own bathroom and shower and plenty of space for two people. It is full of character and gives workawayers an authentic country experience with views over the paddocks. However, if this is full there is room in a farm cottage on the farm.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Am very happy to provide guidance on local sights and also pick up and drop off at the local airport in Palmerston North or bus nearby in Bulls

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)














Número de referencia de anfitrión: 198221343665