Help me restore a stone house and enjoy a magic garden in Flores island, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

47 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there! My name is Jaen, Franco-Mexican living in the middle of the Atlantic with my partner, cat and chickens, on Flores island, a magical tiny spot of land overflowing with fresh water and abundant in stunning landscapes.

    If you are looking to spend time in nature, retreat yourself, meet new people and you are familiar with construction, here is the perfect spot!

    I have a beautiful land with a private cozy cabin to receive you (see pics), and I just bought a stone house not far from here that needs to be restored into a liveable house… that’s where you jump in and help me (more details below)!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Apart from work, there is of course a lot to discover around the island! There are some nice hiking trails (official and non-official), a lot of fresh water bodies in which to swim, also the sea is not far from here. There is a lot of cool people to meet, and astonishing landscapes to contemplate! I will introduce you to people and take you around to discover parts of the island.

    I speak 5 languages, if you feel like practicing one, I'm here!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I bought an old stone house in Fajazinha that needs a lot of help in order to make it liveable.

    The main work would be dedicated to renovating the house, but also some gardening work would be part of the deal.

    Other works as for example in my land where the cabin is are to be expected.

    You’ll be working about 20 to 25 hours per week, with flexible use of them throughout the week, depending on materials, needs, weather, etc.

    Qualities looking for:

    Easy going, organised, clean, tidy, proactive, motivated, hard worker, strong
    Have notions/experience in construction

    I can host you for: 1 week trial, max. stay: 3 weeks

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido
    Italiano: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You'll be hosted on your own in my cozy cabin surrounded by a big beautiful garden. You’ll have an external hot shower and dry toilets. Electricity comes mainly from solar panels, and it is enough to have light, charge computers and phones. Although, from autumn to spring it is often not enough and you'll need to be extra cautious on your use of light to make it last longer. On sunny days less stress, if cloudy you'll probably need a lamp torch. I have a battery charger at home that I use to charge the batteries of the cabin when there are no sunny days. There is no fridge. Laundry, I’ll make it for you.

    The cabin has one double bed in the mezzanine, a kitchen corner, a tiny living room and a desk.

    The cabin is not far from the house to restore: about 25 minutes waking, 5 minutes by car. The walk is very nice. Some times I’ll give you a lift, others you'll walk or use my bike.

    I'll be living in my partner's house in Ponta da Faja and would come to the garden every now and then to work and spend time with you.

    My cat decided to stay in the land (I tried to bring him to my partner's house but he escaped and came back ;-) ), so you'll have to be an animal lover, cause he is very cuddly and likes to sleep on the bed near you. If you don't like that, better not asking me to receive you :-)

    I have bees so you shouldn't be allergic to them.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    On your time off you won’t get bored if you like to be in nature!
    - There are many official and non-official trails lo explore
    - You can go swimming or snorkelling (I can lend you some material if it fits you) - mainly fun summer and autumn
    - Trips to Corvo (the island in front of Flores) exist daily, and you should definitely do that - mainly fun summer and autumn
    - You can go canyoning - mainly fun summer and autumn

    Other nice things you could do:
    - If you need a massage that’s my work here (you’ll have a discount or we can find a deal)
    - Jam sessions on the land of a German friend on the first Sunday of each month
    - Make pizza in my wood-fire oven!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    If you have pets and want to bring them, lets talk about this to see if it will work!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 192635866489