Learn about farm life at our farm stay in Gabriola Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

180 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    08/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    508

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    63.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a young professional couple (Jen - 31, Will - 38) with two tiny humans, Ruxton (4) and Ophelia (2.5) with a rural 5-acre gulf island farm. We also own another 15 acer farm on the South end of the island. We both work in the emergency field (Will is the Fire Chief for the fire department) and (Jenn is a paramedic and a firefighter on the island) we love farming, love the water, and love this island. Gabriola is surrounded by beaches and is one of the most breathtaking places on earth with an amazing farming community.

    On our farm we grow lots of different vegetables and fruits in our 20,000 square foot gardens. Some of these include carrots, lettuce, chard, kale, beets, herbs, peas, corn, squash, zucchini, cucumbers, tomatoes, celery, and garlic. Our garlic crop is our commercial crop and we plant around 12,000 a year. In our orchard we grow five different apple trees, 2 plum trese, three pare trees, five fig trees, 5 hazelnut trees, and two walnut trees. In all our gardens we use sustainable and organic practices and no pesticides or herbicides.

    We also rise laying hens with our current count at 30 + 4 roosters. We sell our eggs at the local farmers market and at a roadside stand. We also feed our hens non-GMO feeds and lots of fresh fruits and veggies.

    In addition to our gardens we have an equine retirement horse boarding facility currently housing five horses. There is a developed riding ring, pasture lands, and near by 707 acre park with an amazing trail system for riding/running/walking.

    We also have a few icelandic sheep on the farm. We use the sheep mostly as breeding stock but also for wool and meat.

    In addition to our farm we also have skills in Cabinetry and Woodworking. We specialize in sustainable start to finish products. From milling dead standing trees to creating and finally installing a finished piece. Our woodworking business is a multigenerational family business with practices and knowledge passed down from generation to generation. We have a 1,000 square foot shop space with all essential equipment. Currently we don't taking on many jobs due to our work in the emergency services, but we are alway fixing/building things on the farm.


    We currently need help in these areas and projects,

    - Child Care (MOST IMPORTANT)
    - Daily animal care for all our animals (feeding, mucking, grooming, etc)
    - Processing and cleaning Garlic
    - Building a woodworking shop addition on the barn (foundation, framing and building work)
    - Finishing our house with more bedrooms and a guest suite (framing, finishing work)
    - Cooking/Cleaning general help around the house
    - Other farm related tasks



    We are excited to learn from our workers and pass on some of the knowledge that we have gained and make new friends.

    Please Note: We will not be accepting workers who are not double vaccinated (our apologies but with young children and the nature of our job we cannot take the risk)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have a extremely dynamic farm and skill set that we love to share with others. We pride ourselves in being able to accomplish all tasks from building our own home, growing our own food, and developing our farm and business. We treat everyone that comes in like a part of our family. We share the same home, have fun and work hard together.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    - Child Care (4 yr old and 2.5 year old)
    - Processing and cleaning Garlic harvest
    - Building a woodworking shop addition on the barn (foundation, framing and building work)
    - Finishing our house with more bed rooms and a guest suite (framing, finishing work)
    - Planting this seasons crops (lots of different veggies)
    - Cooking/Cleaning general help around the house
    - Daily animal care for all our animals (feeding, mucking, grooming, etc)
    - Garden prep and Weeding
    - Other farm related tasks

    No experience is necessary we are willing to teach if you are patient with us.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have two trailers available. On can accommodate a couple or a single and the other just a single person. We hope to build a suite into our home in the future for more accommodations. There is very fast WiFi access to most of the property and in both trailers.

    Food

    We provide all meals for our workers, breakfast is self serve, lunch is provided on work days unless there is something else happening that takes Jenn away from the house. Dinner is always made.
    We use local fresh produce from our farm and surrounding farms. We also do not buy any farmed meat only meat we have raised (such as pigs and chicken) or meat that Will has hunted/fished such as deer and salmon. We make most things from scratch and try and provide the best quality food we can. Jenn is also happy to teach you how to cook if that is an interest for you!

    Though we do eat some vegetarian meals we are not vegetarians, so if you are then you will be expected to cook your own meals.

    Please note we will happily provide an occasional case of beer for a good days work as a treat but we also encourage workers to provide their own alcohol as well if they wish to drink.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Gabriola Island offers a wide variety of beaches and coast line. There are many local pubs and restaurants as well as shops and farmers markets in the summer. We have a 35' sail boat that we often take people out on in the summer time when the weather is nice. There are 707 acres of trails right by our house that are great for walking, running and mountain biking (we have bikes available for use).

    We are a very social family and we often host dinner parties and bonfires at our home. We have been year long hosts for over 6 years and we love a busy happy home.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.5)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 188733825999