actualizado  

Volunteer at a remote farm in the wilderness in the West-Chilcotin, BC

  • 746 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 20 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are now looking for long term community members and also short term volunteer help around our farm!

    We are Monika and Fred - in our 60ies - and are running a small organic farm in the wilderness of the West Chilcotin mountains. Come experience off-grid living with us in a small isolated green valley on the borders of the large Tweedsmuir Provincial Park, about one and a half hours away from the next village.

    Over the years we have developed 2 acres for vegetable production and have built a greenhouse into the mountain side. Two dogs, a cat, a small flock of chickens and two milk cows with their offspring are enjoying life with us. With help from volunteers we have built two log cabins, a sauna, a log barn, a cabin with a pool table and dart board, and a clay oven for baking bread the traditional way. We also have a few equipment sheds and a black-smith shop with a forge, anvil, bellows and basic blacksmithing tools.

    Our way of life is mostly self-sustainable and with a small eco-footprint. We like to share our life in the wilderness with people who are interested in an experience of living in and with nature and produce one's own food and at the same time enjoy some of nowadays comforts.

    We are looking to expand our community with likeminded people to diversify, share the work and live in cooperation. The opportunities for work experiences and wilderness adventure are endless.
    We live on 90 acres of mixed forest and meadows which provide many opportunities for shared business ventures and long term participation. If you are interested in a long term stay please mention so in your message.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Volunteers can learn how to produce ones own food, like vegetables, fruits, potatos, dairy products, meat, eggs and so on. They can also learn awareness of using energy - as little and efficient as possible, because we live off the grid. Building with logs, from cutting down trees to joinery to roof construction can be learned as well.

    We like to share our way of living including all sorts of activities like hiking on historic trails, attending the lokal rodeo or music festival and get togethers with our neighbours.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Spring, summer and fall projects include general farm work, haying, maintaining log fences and log cabins and other outbuildings (incl. cutting down trees and milling them on our Alaska saw mill), cutting fire wood, and exploring and maintaining trails.

    We grow all of our vegetables, fruits and herbs ourselves. Therefore most of the farm work will involve manual weeding, planting, transplanting and harvesting of crops as well as processing and preserving food (like canning, drying, freezing, fermenting). We milk our cows and make cheese, quark and yoghurt and would be happy to teach these practices while looking for help caring for our animals.

    We share this small valley with two more homesteads, located about 3km to the east . One of them is a small ranch with a cow/calf operation. Since we have a strong culture of working together where needed, we often help each other out. We cooperate where we can and there will be the possibility of experiencing ranch work, like driving cattle to the summer range, haying, repair and maintenance of ranch equipment, building range fences etc.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a modest log house with three small bedrooms and a studio. The bathroom has a shower and composting toilet. We have running hot and cold water. We are off the grid, the house is powered by solar panels. There is a sattelite internet connection. There are also cabins available to accommodate guests/volunteers on a more basic level.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is lots of opportunity for hiking and wildlife viewing. The nature surrounding our valley is expansive. We have many small beautifull lakes in the area as well as vibrant mixed forest and volcanic mountain ranges. There are many easy dayhikes up into the alpine leading to stunning views. Black bears and grizzlys for example can be seen quite often, especially in late spring/early summer, and also a great variety of birds.

    In spite of our isolated location we enjoy quite some social life especially during summer and fall. There is usually get-togethers almost weekly. Sports like badminton, volleyball, pool billard, darts and various board games can also provide entertainment.

    Sorry, no coffee shops, pubs or other city entertainment out here in the wilderness ;)

    Concerning the pandemic: We have both been vaccinated and boostered.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a reliable satelite internet connection

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 18848183894b

Comentarios (14)



Fotos

Comentarios
















Help me get organized, help with housework and enjoy Vancouver, Canada
Life on Lake Ontario, Kingston.