Twelve day experience outside Barcelona on a permaculture paradise in Catalonia, Spain




479 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    99.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    We are not currently accepting volunteers, but we will begin to look at applications for after the new year at the beginning of December 2021.

    We are a a family of 4 living 25 minutes outside of Barcelona, Spain. We have a permaculture project where we are creating sustainable/regenerative suburban homestead and we are looking for like-minded people to help us build our dream!

    Our girls are 11 and 9 and we speak mainly English and Catalan in our home. We are Unschoolers and educate our daughters at home (homeschooling). Our house is always filled with ongoing art projects, on-line gaming conversations with friends in South Africa, the UK and the US and lots of plants. Francesc and I both work from home as well, so we are always puttering around doing something with the girls.

    We live in a house with all of the modern conveniences, while still working to decrease our footprint. We have solar panels, grey water recycling, rain water capture and are starting to produce more of our own food. We try and be as zero waste as possible and process most of our foods (nut milks, breads, seitan, tempeh, ferments, jams etc) cleaning products and beauty products, shop at bulk stores and buy second hand when buying something is necessary.

    Our home is located in beautiful Ametlla del Valles with expansive views of fields and mountains. We have a natural pool which is wonderful in the summer, and an in-ground trampoline which is fun for kids of all ages to bounce around on! Our property has over 60 fruit bearing trees and bushes (oranges, grapefruits, lemons, limes, mandarines, loquats, pears, apples, peaches, plums, kumquats, persimmons, blackberries, raspberries, grapes, kiwis, pawpaws, gojis, jujubes, walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts, cherries, mulberries, quince, olives) as well as 6 chickens which have become family pets as well as producing delicious eggs for us every day! We are 10 minutes from La Garriga (a town with hot springs and cute cafes) and 15 minutes away from Granollers (a larger city with a train into Barcelona and other parts of Spain).

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am an American and my husband is Catalan. Our daughters are 11 and 9 years old. We speak English, Catalan and Spanish, but we mainly speak English at home. When COVID isn't a problem, we are always going places around Catalunya and you are welcome to come with us. You will also have time to explore Barcelona and our surroundings during your time off. If you have a valid drivers license we have a car that you may be able to use. We also have bikes to get you into the local towns.

    If you choose to visit us and work with our project you will learn about permaculture principles, no-dig gardening, plant propagation, cooking, canning, fermenting, bread-making,

    Francesc is an avid mountain biker and would be happy to include you in his rides around our beautiful area. I love cooking and experimenting with new ways to preserve food. I always have a few ferments going and kombucha is always brewing at our house! Alex is a keen gamer and always loves to find other gamers to chat with, and Lia is a budding videographer and LPS collector!

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for people (couples welcome) to help us with garden tasks and light building projects (trellises, paths, sheds etc) as well as processing the garden bounty (canning, drying, freezing, fermenting etc). Our daughters also love all aspects of art, so if you have any interest or talent in watercolors, textile arts, sewing, painting, drawing, computer animation, video creation, ceramics, sculpting or similar, the girls would love to learn from you!

    Some of the projects you may be working on depending on the season are:
    Garden bed preparation
    Seed starting
    Feeding chickens
    Pruning trees
    Spraying trees (all natural fertilizer and pest treatments)
    Pool maintenance (pruning water plants, vacuuming)
    Yard maintenance
    Updating drip watering system
    Building trellises
    Building garden paths
    Building garden sheds
    Mulching fruit trees
    Produce preparation for canning, fermenting, etc
    Small maintenance projects like painting small areas of the home
    Keeping the kitchen clean!
    Digging holes ( there always seems to be a hole needing to be dug

    We are always open to new ideas and projects so once you are here, if you have an idea, let us know! Also, if you have experience in any of the above please let us know when you apply.

    We are looking for our volunteers to help 5hrs a day, 5 days a week. Which days can be flexible. We will have a weekly meeting to discuss goals and projects for the week and we will always show you how things are done if you don't have experience!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Catalan: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a room in our home for our workaway guests with a double bed. You will share a bathroom. You will have access to a kitchen to prepare your meals. We will provide food. If there are special items that you need please speak to us and we can incorporate them into our shopping up to €10 extra a week.

    We have fantastic internet (300mb fiber optic line).

    We don´t eat together as a family much, but when we do you are welcome to join us!

    We also have bikes for use.

    We are a no smoking household. No smokers please!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You can walk out of our door and take a walk down to the river or to the woods, or you could grab a bike and bike any of the many great mountain biking trails in the mountains behind the house.

    You could explore the historic thermal baths town of La Garriga, or peruse the huge Thursday market in Granollers. You could take the train into Barcelona and wander around the old quarter or the Born to see all of the cool shops and wonderful food.

    There are plenty of things to do around here. We know that you will be enchanted with the location as we are!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Both my husband and I have been working from home for the last 6 years, so having great internet access is a must for us. We have a 600Mb fiber connection and rooms that are connected both wired and wirelessly with internet.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours/day 5 days/week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 125447246992