actualizado   Última hora

Enjoy peace and serenity from the top of the mountain & help run the household. Central Coast, NSW, Australia

  • 60 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 22 jul 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello lovely Workawayers,

    My name is Mark and I am an Australian / Dutch Citizen who has spent many decades travelling the world. My dream has always been to find a beautiful and serene environment with a good view. I believe I've found it!

    My home is on 106 acres with magnificent views. It’s 90 minutes drive north of the centre of Sydney. There are many projects across acres of gardens, inside and outside of the house.

    The vision is to create an eco-retreat in the coming years, where people can enjoy the peace and serenity of the great outdoors in an extraordinarily beautiful natural setting.

    What I need your help for is the day to day upkeep of the home and some specific projects. Anyone with actual masonry or landscaping skills, and/or actual construction experience (from renovating a bathroom to replacing a door) would be most welcome! I also am looking for someone to help around the house with general day-to-day things like cooking, cleaning, and organising.

    Ideally, if you’re interested in a cultural exchange, then we would get the chance to talk over WhatsApp and discuss what you’re looking for, your expectations and the skills you can contribute to the vision.

    So, if you like what you've read so far keep reading and drop me a line, I'd love to meet you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This sanctuary is half a kilometre from a nearest neighbour, in the middle of pristine Australian bush. That means you’ll encounter every kind of Australian wildlife, including wallabies, wombats, every kind of bird, goanna’s, snakes etc. Don’t be concerned or put off by snakes. They are far more scared of us than we are of them. Sensible precautions mean that we can all coexist.

    This is by no means City Living … Which can be a culture shock for some people.

    The backyard runs from the top of the mountain down to the valley, and takes 90 minutes to 2 hours to walk through temperate rainforest.

    The name of the suburb ‘Kulnura’ is an indigenous name that means 'up in the clouds with a view of the sea'. Surrounded by nature, provides an uncommon experience, especially for those who have been living in cities, all their lives.

    I am also a keen meditator and practice yoga and Pilates. There are a number of opportunities to engage in Yoga locally. There is also a possibility to enjoy the sunrise each morning from the front terrace and watching the world of nature wake up. It’s unique.

    As a dual national who understands a European sensibility, born in Australia, (English and Dutch spoken), I can offer the ability to translate what seems like quite a foreign environment, into one which is more approachable safe and ultimately beautiful.

    There is also the chance to enjoy music, making and listening. If you have an instrument, please bring it. There are plenty of guitars, amps and a piano in house. Some nights it’s good to sit around a fire indoors or outdoors depending on the mood.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The kinds of projects involve cutting firewood, clearing brush, planting, weeding, clearing bush paths through the forest. In the house, there are a variety of different projects to modernise the interior and exterior. Ideally, you will be willing to use an electric chainsaw or brush-cutter. Having skills to work around the house is what I am looking for.

    Your participation in preparation and clearing up of each meal is expected. This is not suitable for people who wish to sleep all day. There is a 'TODO list for helpers' to act as a memory jogger, so you know what’s expected throughout the day.

    The idea is to create a mutually acceptable environment for coexistence within the same house. I work remotely from home during the day most days, but I’m available to discuss projects and tasks as required.

    Any disturbance to the peace and tranquility of the home would be a reason to terminate the arrangement.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have your own bedroom and bathroom. There’s a queen size bed and a separate bathroom you can call your own. There are three bedrooms in the house, and one study. Two bathrooms and the kitchen. As you can see from the photos, the house is solid, warm and comfortable. There is plenty of space inside and outside for you to have privacy.

    We live off grid, which means we are sparing with our reserves of rainwater and electricity that comes from PV panels and the battery. Home cooked meals will be provided.

    Rocco is an important mascot in the house. He loves to play, and walk in the garden and in the bush behind the house. He’s a very friendly, easy-going dog who enjoys attention. Just like every dog you’ve ever known! He has only ever lived on this block and knows it like the back of his hand. He is also a guard dog for the foxes and other animals such as feral dogs that can sometimes visit. His job is to protect the chickens from unwanted attention.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The house is approximately 25 minutes from the railway station in Wyong. Normally I make a trip to Sydney and return once a week.

    You would be expected to do a minimum five hours of work five days a week to cover your room and food.

    We will NOT be making special trips to town. Key expectations include:
    - Maintaining a clean and tidy room and actively contributing to the running of the household.
    - Engaging with the activities of the household (cooking, cleaning, gardening, etc).
    - No drugs or excessive alcohol consumption.
    - Open and honest communication with no surprises.
    - You must be fully insured.
    - Drivers licence preferred. Its for safety and moving around the property with a trailer
    - Should be able to support those with vegetarian requirements.
    - Vegans may find it challenging, unless you are cooking everything yourself and do not mind meat and other dishes being prepared in the kitchen at the same time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is sufficient space for a camper van

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 183585716129

Comentarios (4)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Natural building project on a mostly recycled house in an ecovillage just north of Sydney, NSW
Help in my veggie garden/ house maintenance and with daily life in Herberton, QLD, Australia