Central location in historic Nelson, BC, Canada-Gardening, Food Prep. and Childcare

Country

Canadá

55 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/04/2021

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We would love help from a mature women who enjoys gardening, food processing and children.

    During the spring and summer months the focus is on soil preparation, seeding, weeding, harvesting and food processing.

    We are a young family of four living in beautiful Nelson BC (mom, dad and two children). Our children are 8 years old and 6 years old. We are committed to enjoying a healthy lifestyle by being active in nature and eating organic, non-GMO, local food. We have a very large, organic permaculture inspired food garden. We grow mountain spinach, potatoes, beets, carrots, squash, tomatoes and lettuce. We have many berry bushes (blueberries, red and black currants, saskatoon berries, goose berries) and fruit trees (peach, apricot, plum, apple and pear). Our location is fantastic as we have mini farm only 4 blocks from downtown historic Nelson and 4 blocks from a network of gorgeous forest trails.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have been actively gardening for ten years and I have completed a six week Permaculture course. We have been invited to participate in Garden tours because our food garden is so big, which is unusual in the city. I am happy to share my knowledge about gardening and food processing. Nelson is a historic and cultural rich city surrounded by mountains, forests and Kootenay Lake. Nature is our playground!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love your help maintaining our garden, playing with our active children and general house work. Garden work would involve seeding, weeding, mulching and food harvesting. We also need help with food processing such as slicing fruit for the dehydrator, freezing fruit and/or canning. Our kids love to meet new people so they would love to chat, dig in the sand box and jump on the trampoline with you. The general house work may involve sweeping, dishes, dusting, vacuuming, and/or cleaning the windows.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying in a very private, quaint and tranquil eight foot by eight foot cabin on stilts with a peak-boo-view of Kootenay lake.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Nelson has a plethora of cultural activities to choose from during your time off, such as: bi-weekly markets, night festivals, music shows, art galleries, art walk, movies in the park, coffee shops, many different restaurants, and cafes. You can enjoy exploring the surrounding nature such as: hiking and biking trails, swimming in Kootenay lake, relaxing at the beach.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 544731922843