Se voluntario en un proyecto ecológico en Leon España

Country

España

actualizado  

605 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    39  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    90.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Volunteers urgently needed mid Sept, for house / garden and cat care


    We are a constantly evolving project based in a stunning off grid mountain location. We have built a cobwood and earth bag house, another earth bag building, some solar showers and long drop compost toilets. We have a large permCultura style garden and try to live a sustainable life up here.
    This was where bought up my children but when they grew up and wanted todo proper education I had to relocate to the uk and put things on hold here.
    Now I split my time between the two countries; spending time in the UK to earn some much needed money to continue this project.
    We are looking for volunteers throughout most of the year but mostly may - October and the main work is May - Sept.

    Its a really beautiful area, right next to the Picos De Europa (an amazing mountain range) with an open air swimming pool at the end of the road,(only open in summer) Theres loads of wildlife around (bears wolves wild boar, loads of bird of prey) amazing walks, climbing horse riding, biking, ski ing...... Leon City is only 40kn away with good transport connections.... Its lovely here.

    In the past we have had lots of horses chickens and goats sharing the land; things are ever evolving, but at the moment we only have cats and hopefully soon some chickens.

    We live totally off grid here, so be prepared to live with out hair dryers, straighteners, easy instant hot water.
    It gets very dark at night, when there is no moon and can get cold at night even in the summer as although we are only in the foothills of the Picos we are still pretty high up. Walking to the town and in the surrounding mountains requires slightly sensible footwear and some kinda of a ticale clothing is advisable though not my strong point!

    We use only eco and bidegradable products soaps shamposs etc so please bear that in mind when coming to stay.

    Showers are basic and dependant on sunshine to warm them.
    The toilets are long drop style compost toilet. No plastics or sanitary products to be put on them please.

    Accommodation is in a caravan or converted bus or a bell tent.

    Its a great place to visit and work and the local town is fantastic; Very traditional spanish, (we are the foreigners in the town! )
    There is lots of free tapas and cheap drinks to be had in the local bars, the people are very friendly and although we feel like we are miles away from anything, infact everything essential is with in easy walking distance.

    There are regular Feve trains and buses from Leon to Boñar, and one day from Bilbao all the way here.

    If you've read this far you must still be interested! So get in touch!
    Jobs we are working on this spring and summer include :
    *️️️️The garden. Always so much to do.
    *️️️️Lime plastering a few walls
    *️️️️Cobbing in some windows
    *️️️️Building some more showers and a solar collector for heating the water.
    *️️️️General maintaining of the land (strimming, grass cutting, keeping brambles at bay etc)
    And more !
    Useful skills include: carpentery, gardening, general labouring/helping on projects, carrying wood, holding things still! , cooking for everyone, patience, stamina, ability to work on your own or in a team, digging, not minding getting dirty or hot and sweaty,

    If your still keen, get in touch. We would love to hear from you.

    Fay

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Otra
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda informática / Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    *️️️️️️️️️️ eco building skills,
    *️️️️️️️️️️ off grid living experience,
    *️️️️️️️️️️ spanish / english language spoken here and in the town its all spanish so helpful for improving spanish or english.
    *️️️️️️️️️️ veggie and vegan cookery,
    *️️️️️️️️️️ permaculture style gardening,

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have a almost finished wooden was round house (now not round as we extended it massively! ) that really needs to be finished this year, so some one with practical skills, carpentery or eco building skills would be ideal for this task.
    We also need lots of help with cobbing to finish the house and the showers .
    We need help with general work, repairs, the garden and maintenance around the land.
    Most of the tasks are reasonably physical and it can be hot up here. So try to bring appropriate clothes.
    Anyone with vegan /veggie cooking skills is also welcome as keeping us fed is very useful too, I get to learn new ideas too and it frees me up to do more other things 😊
    We expect volunteers to share in cleaning up the comunal spaces, washing up etc.
    We usually have alot of fun with our volunteers. But appreciate everyone's need for space and privacy at times.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    Mostly English but the local town is very very Spanish and I speak Spanish too

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You would be staying in a caravan or converted bus. or bell tent. Or you can bring your own tent , some vans can get up here some cant.... depends on your van and your driving!

    Accomadation here is basic and rustic! compost toilets and basic washing facilities. Solar showers are dependant on the sun to provide hot water so Be prepared to adapt while here!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Please contact me for more information; and to find out who will be around and what projects will be happening when you would like to visit, as this is an often changing thing!

    There are decent transport links to Leon the local city and from there u can take a bus or feve train into Boñar where we will meet you.
    If u are coming from Bilboa or anywhere on the feve train line from bilboa to Leon you can take the feve direct to Boñar.

    If u need any specific info. Please ask.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours, 5 days a week with some flexibility. Depending on the work we are doing .

The current unfinished projects!
Updated view showing the extension
the stream in the winter needsa bridge to cross, in the summer it dries up
Narnia Feb 2014
Cob Wall
the Pozo under construction
the roof so far
collecting mushrooms

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 17144729384b