Help us out and enjoy quiet rural Albany, but close to Auckland City life, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

21 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/08/2022

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are an active retired couple. I spent 43 years working for the NZ Fire Service and Carol still works part-time at Auckland's museum. We have been farming 4 hectares (10 acres) for 40 years mainly breeding farm animals of various types. Farm and building maintenance is becoming harder and a set of younger and stronger muscles will benefit us as we benefit them with good food and company. We are born and bred New Zealanders and have travelled throughout New Zealand including extensive trips in our RV. We are happy to share knowledge of some great places we have found on our journeys and New Zealand life in general. We live in a peaceful rural setting with decks providing expansive rural views to the North. We have the best of both worlds with city facilities only 5Km away and Auckland CBD is 25Kms away.
    We can choose from many nearby beaches and coastal walks.
    We have no dogs and no children except occasional visitors. Our tractor, quad bike and chainsaw occasionally interrupt the peace and quiet. We do have a bus service but its a 1 km walk away and only about once an hour. Own transport is, therefore, an advantage.
    Currently, we are planning to do some heavy pruning of trees Some, painting, and building maintenance. Basic handyman carpentry and basic engineering skills are involved and some heavy lifting requiring upper body strength is likely. We need maturity and initiative. We cope quite well with workawayers with English as a second language by using translator apps.
    We are happy to talk and fill in any gaps. We eat well, drink very very occasionally, and consider others as we would want to be considered. We both just operate computers from tethered phones so we dont have household WiFi. Its fine for email and research etc and we can show you how to tether your phone if you have a laptop or similar. If you intend using Auckland buses an AT Hop card is a big cost saving and is highly convenient. We have a great location and active lifestyle and we look forward to sharing and learning from others.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have a lifetime of experience to share and know our country and our city very well. We try to help people who are trying to improve their English.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    General tasks including heavy pruning of trees, painting, machinery operation (grass cutters and hedge trimmers) building maintenance, some lifting and carrying requiring upper body strength. Basic practical handyman skills, initiative and a positive attitude are essentials. We are happy to talk and fill in any gaps.you will need to be strong and fit as some tasks are heavier than this old guy (me) can handle.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our helper will have a comfortable single bedroom with other household facilities shared with us. Most helpers have opted to occupy our RV next to the house. Its like a comfortable mini apartment with a lounge, table and hand basin.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are close to New Zealands biggest city, multiple beaches and coastal walks and the Islands of the Hauraki gulf are accessible.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20-25 hours a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 115424343958